Windows 7 Does not boot

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by hmm, Nov 24, 2009.

  1. hmm

    hmm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been running a dual boot of Vista and Win 7 on a 190gb (C:\) and 30gb (D:\) partition quite well for a few months. I decided to get rid of the Vista partition and reclaim the space. So, I used Acronis to format the Vista partition, which then rebooted and then I used the Win 7 CD recovery tool to type "bcdboot D:windows". This worked well, got loaded into Win7. The Win 7 partition was still 30gb and the vista partition was just a blank drive. So, I used Acronis again to reclaim the space so I would have one drive. Acronis performed it's task, but typing "bcdboot c:windows" did not work. Neither did "Bootsect /NT60 c: /force" I am stumped.
     
    #1 hmm, Nov 24, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Did you try booting Win 7 installation DVD and choosing the repair option ?
     
  3. hmm

    hmm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    Repair says that everything is a-okay. After POST, I am getting a flashing underscore.
     
  4. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    When you deleted Vista did you go to msconfig and remove Vista from boot tab?
    Joe
     
  5. hmm

    hmm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0

    No. After the format, I booted into Win 7 fine after running "bcdboot D:\windows" in the repair console. It was only after I merged the two partitions (changing the Win7 partition to C:\) that this started.
     
  6. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I do not know what the bcdboot command does, but did you use it to change to C:

    Can you boot into safe mode or a command prompt by hitting F8?
     
  7. hmm

    hmm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    After POST, I just get a blinking underscore. Cannot boot into anything.
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Did you try doing the same thing but using C: instead of D: If you can't boot into the same situation, use the install DVD and choose Repair after the initial information collection.

    Try the startup repair option. If that does not work, try to get into the Command window and type bcdedit. Look at the bootloader and see where the loader is pointing, it should say something like:
    \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    partition=C:

    If it says D:, then you know your problem is, assuming you did change the partition to C: .
     
  9. hmm

    hmm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Startup repair could not detect a problem.

    d:\ is now the DVD drive, bcdboot doesn't work

    bcdedit shows that the
    device partition=C :
    path \windows\system32\winload.exe
    osdevice partition=C:
     
  10. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Well, things are getting better for you because I am out of other ideas..:frown:

    But, you might try setting the partition to active. You may be able to do this using the Disk Options button from the Install disk or you may have to go into a command prompt and use Diskpart. I would give you the systax, but I seem to be having problems with that.

    I was thinking because you booted to the partition earlier it must be active, but that may not be the case.
     
  11. hmm

    hmm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't you mean getting worse?
     
  12. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    try
    insert your windows 7 dvd, then on the second screen (after choose your language) go to repair your computer.
    go to command prompt and type in:
    bootrec /fixmbr
    press enter.
    Then type this in:
    bootrec /FixBoot
    press enter.
    reeboot

    heres the details on the microsoft recovery options support site ........

    let us know how it goes ;)

    or if your prefer download burn and use Hiren's BootCD 10.1 for MbrFix 1.3 option under MBR (Master Boot Record) Tools section :)

    personally I might have given up by now as after trying for a few hours although it's nice to dig and discover new things the option of a fresh install can often take far less time in the long run :D
     
    #12 ickymay, Nov 25, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
  13. hmm

    hmm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done those commands without success. bootrec /fixboot outputs "The volume does not contain a recognized file system"

    I might just have to do what I did not want to do: fresh install.
     
  14. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    ouch :mad:

    it's beginning to look like Acronis may have damaged your file system in the format but I'm not sure why unless you tried to move the partition ?

    did you try the /RebuildBcd command as this scans all disks for installations that are compatible with Windows Vista or Windows 7 ?
     
    hmm and (deleted member) like this.
  15. hmm

    hmm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    You may be right. /rebuildbcd detected 0 Windows installations so that did not work. It seems that when I expanded the Win7 into the formatted Vista partition, I got screwed up. Time to reinstall everything.
     
  16. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Well, just for your general information then. I just duplicated your situation with the Vista install on C: and the Win 7 install on D:. The D: partition in which I installed Win 7 is not marked as active. Only the C: partition is active, so I still believe when you wiped it out, you replaced it with a non-active partition. Acronis should tell you that.

    But, whatever works for you...

    Edit: This information is not correct, the old partition was marked as active during the repair
     
    #16 Saltgrass, Nov 25, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2009
    hmm and (deleted member) like this.
  17. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Well, it took 2 boots to get my system back after deleting the Vista partition. Sometimes it takes startup repair several passes. Good Luck with yours!!
     
  18. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    This is how I removed windows 7 RC How to Remove or Uninstall Windows 7 from Dual Boot? . Then I formatted with windows disk management. I then used Acronis disk director to merge with my data partition. I have seen that some people have problems when Acronis to format for windows 7..
    Joe
     
  19. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    After I got my install to boot, I still had an offset of 40GB where the Vista partition had been and my boot partition was not D: I could not get Windows to move it or change the drive letter.

    I was thinking, that if the boot would have been restored prior to Acronis being used to move the partition, maybe it would have worked. but I cannot check since I do not have that version. I ended up doing a upgrade install to move the programs to the C: partition. I suppose if you have Acronis, you could make a partition image and then replace it where ever you wanted.

    Right now, this stuff is still a lot of smoke and mirrors to me!!
     
  20. shinseiryuu

    shinseiryuu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I am posting this to help those after me who encounter this same problem.

    If you are encountering the "volume does not contain a recognized file system" error when attempting bootrec /fixboot, even after successfully running all other bootrec commands (fixmbr, rebuildBCD), and are still getting the NTLDR is missing error....

    I discovered the fix was to run Win7 Repair via install disk, and at the command prompt, type in

    bootsect /ntfs60 C: (replace drive letter with your boot drive letter)

    This will re-apply the master boot code and repair the boot sector despite bootrec /fixboot's failure. Hope this helps someone in the future...
     

Share This Page

Loading...