Windows 7 does not shutdown the computer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by mpoirier, May 31, 2011.

  1. mpoirier

    mpoirier New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I click Shutdown button on start menu, Windows shutsdown but leaves the computer running.

    Fresh install, updates installed, chipset drivers upto date.

    Never experienced this with WinXP on same computer...

    Check all other messages about same problem but no reply witsolution was posted.

    Has this been solved somehow ?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Ciara

    Ciara New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Hi mpoirier :)

    Note: Your power supply is always on so the start-button logic works so do you mean your fans are still running after Windows closes ?, first I would check your Power Plan Options and your BIOS settings.
     
  3. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    In addition to power plan options as noted above the actual start menu power button has it's own properties which can be defined by right clicking any blank area of the taskbar and choosing properties, then select the Start Menu tab and use the drop down to select the actual options you want to define. See attachment.
     
  4. mpoirier

    mpoirier New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I

    I checked Power Plan = Balanced.

    I see nothing that would prevent the computer to shutdown completly. Also I did not see how to disable Power Plans alltogether, I don't need it, it's a tower computer, not a laptop... :confused:

    I did not change anything in the BIOS since I "upgraded" from WinXP, XP worked flawlessly with those settings...

    ???
     
  5. mpoirier

    mpoirier New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, somethime it is the simplest things, but the button action says "shutdown"...

    Thanks,

    michel
     
  6. Ciara

    Ciara New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,352
    Likes Received:
    53
    Mine is a desktop as well ... try > (also you have not filled out your spec - profile)

    [​IMG]
     
    #6 Ciara, May 31, 2011
    Last edited: May 31, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...