Windows 7 Firewall Settings Not accessible but Firewall is running

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by kenredx, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. kenredx

    kenredx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently have realized that I cannot access the windows firewall settings. If i click on windows firewall nothing happens. I checked and the service is running. I tried to stop and start the service and it is successful but still no luck with accessing the firewall settings. My user is listed as an administrator so that isnt the issue either. I have been looking around and with no luck have found a solution for this any help is appreciated. Also I have ran malware scans and nothing comes up. Thank you in advance for any help you can provide.
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
  3. kenredx

    kenredx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is the problem when i click on the windows firewall in the control panel nothing happens. I have tried to get to it several ways and with no success. I cannot get to the window with the advanced settings or even see the status of my firewall.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  5. RAK

    RAK Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    126
    I think that you have another firwall running? Many of the third party firealls will, although the service is still operating, disable it. If this is the case, you may as well disable one or the other. It has no useful purpose running more than one.
     
  6. Luizcamilo

    Luizcamilo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happens if you type "WF.msc" on Run ?
    Do you receive any error messages ?
    Also, if it doesn´t work, do you see any related error on event viewer ? (eventvwr.msc)
    Brgs,
     
  7. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321

    Control Panel > Administrative > Services > Windows Firewall = > see if this service is set to Auto and is running.


    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


    Right now I have ESS and ZoneAlarm running, and I can access my Windows Firewall settings no problem.
     
  8. Luizcamilo

    Luizcamilo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    What version of windows 7 are you using ?
    Does your version is Starter ?
     
  9. kenredx

    kenredx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0


    Yes this service is set to auto and is running. I am running Windows 7 Professional. I went to control panel=>Administrative tools=>Windows Firewall with advanced security and found the following error:
    There was an error opening the windows firewall with advanced security snap-in.....restart firewall error code:0x6D9
     
  10. kenredx

    kenredx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7 Pro
     
  11. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321

    If the service is already running, click the Stop button and confirm with "Yes" to stop the service. Then restart the service by clicking the Start button.
     
  12. kenredx

    kenredx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have stopped and started the service and still not being able to access it. I went into safe mode with network support and was able to get access to the firewall settings that way. I have not installed any other firewall on this computer. It seems that maybe something is in my startup that is causing this to occur.
     
  13. kenredx

    kenredx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was able to access the firewall advanced settings in safe mode + network support, but when i booted in a selective startup with all non-microsoft services being disabled and not allowing the startups to run I still am not able to access the firewall settings. I am not sure at this point what else could be the issue.
     
  14. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You might try opening an administrative command prompt window and typing the following with enter after:

    SFC /scannow

    To open a Window, type cmd in the start menu search box and hit CTRL+Shift Enter.

    Does you anti-virus show anything in its scan?
     
  15. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321

    If you can access it in Safe Mode but can't on normal boot, then some ' third party program has probably "usurped" the windows 7 firewall.'

    Do you have any security software installed?
     
  16. kenredx

    kenredx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running Symantec Endpoint Protection which has
    1) Antivirus / Antispyware
    2) Proactive Threat Protection (Trojans and Worm Scan)
    That is all it does.
    That is all i have in terms of security software I am not running any third party firewalls nor have i had them installed on this box.
     
  17. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    As suggested in this thread, disable Symantec Endpoint Protection and see if you can access Windows Firewall advanced settings.
     

Share This Page

Loading...