Windows 7 freezing on start up

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Glenskie16, Sep 30, 2012.

  1. Glenskie16

    Glenskie16 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok my hp pavilon m9517c currently running windows 7 is freezing at the green bar loading ... i have tried these steps to try to fix the problem and nothing is working ?
    1. clearing the cmos
    2. replaced the cmos battery
    3. repairing computer ... freezes same spot ...
    4. tried booting into safemode but freezes
    5. tried booting to a earlier time ... freezes
    6. tried a clean install of windows 7 from a bootable usb but freezes at the green bar once again ...


    i have no idea what to do and i need help please and thank you !
     
  2. Glenskie16

    Glenskie16 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    also when i first turn it on it reboots 2 times before actually trying to boot into the windows
     
  3. johhnymarshal

    johhnymarshal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0

    What are the hardware configurations of your computer ? Win 7 requires at least 1 GB of RAM. If you are lacking it, please upgrade. Else i would suggest you to put a fresh install of it formatting the current installation.
     
  4. Glenskie16

    Glenskie16 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have 8 GB of RAM ... and how would i fresh install it if it freezes constantly ??
     
  5. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    If it freezes at safemode, it's clearly not a Windows problem. And since you have cleared the CMOS, your BIOS should be at basic, safe values. It would seem you have a severe hardware problem. If you have warranty, I would suggest you take the computer for service.
     
  6. johhnymarshal

    johhnymarshal New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need not to run it for installing a new and fresh version of Windows. You just need to insert a boot disc and start booting from it. If you do not have a DISC, you could use a bootable USB for installation.
     

Share This Page

Loading...