Windows 7 hangs on restart

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Imageman, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. Imageman

    Imageman Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7 Professional 64bit

    When I try to perform a restart, the computer goes into oblivion. Drive light flickers a bit but I've let it rest over an hour and it didn't restart. Have to press the reset button. Otherwise everything seems OK. I've run deep scans with Malwarebytes and Kaspersky and no warnings - Solutions welcome, thanks for your help - IM
     
  2. MikeHawthorne

    MikeHawthorne Essential Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6,046
    Likes Received:
    300
    Hi

    I had that!

    I ran the repair thingy that it offers you when it fails to boot.

    It said that it could not identify the problem. I thought Bummer!
    So I selected boot as normal and after that it worked fine!

    Go figure.

    Mike
     
  3. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    Try running the start up repair 3 times.
    Joe
     
  4. zvit

    zvit Honorable Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,455
    Likes Received:
    84
    There are SO many solutions for that, I'm just going to give you the list so you can start trying them out. I suggest you read posts AFTER solutions and try out the solutions that actually helped people.

    Let me google that for you
     
  5. jalex

    jalex New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    As far as I know all mfg. computers have this same problem. I have Windows 7 on 2 generic computers and they work just fine.
    The Compaqs all hang only on restart and right after the bios screen closes.  Turning them off and starting them again brings them back up in Windows & then they are are good from then on until the next restart.
    How do I fix this problem as all my Compaq desktops are doing this? 
     

Share This Page

Loading...