Windows 7 Windows 7 hangs on Welcome Screen! No Safe Mode!

imnotlaughin

I've been running Windows 7 (32-bit, I believe) for a couple of months now. I'm sorry, but I don't know the build number or where to look for it. I was writing an e-mail in Firefox when suddenly Firefox stopped responding. After a minute I tried to run the task manager, but my computer had completely frozen. I reset the machine but when Windows 7 tried to boot it hung on the Welcome Screen. I can't get in using Safe Mode, either. It hangs on the Welcome Screen also. I booted to Windows XP on another drive (which I'm using now) to check that the computer was still functioning and that the boot HDD of Windows 7 was also. Both worked fine. I think Avast! Antivirus might have been doing a scheduled scan at the time of the crash. Here are my potentially pertinent physical computer specs:

ABIT IX38 Quad GT, Intel E6850, GeForce 9600GT, 2x2GB Patriot 240-pin DDR2 1066

If there's any other information you need from me, just ask. I'll do what I can, but I'm better with computer hardware than I am with software. This kind of thing makes my head spin...

Please help!

It sounds like a possible expired build. Is there no way at all you can find that information from the original source?
Unfortunately, if that is the case, you are not going to get much help, but at least you will have the doubtful satisfaction of knowing(??)

So which builds are expired already? I thought they were good until March, or June, or the middle of 2010 sometime. This sounds terrible.

Imnotlaughin,
Windows 7 Beta (7000) is now expired. Windows 7 RC (Build 7100) is still valid until next year. Beginning March 1st, 2010 Windows 7 RC will begin bi-hourly shutdowns and come June 1st, 2010 the RC version of Win 7 will no longer be functional.