Windows 7 HD image Fails

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by hawkeye62, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. hawkeye62

    hawkeye62 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried to create a disk image using the Windows 7 feature. The creation failed with a message that chkdsk /r should be run on the source and destination HDs. Destination HD was error free. Source HD had bad clusters replaced in five files.

    Second attempt to create a disk image failed with the same message.

    There are no system symptoms, everything seems to be working as usual.

    Any advice will be appreciated.
     
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
    Are you talking about burning an ISO image in windows 7 natively?
     
  3. hawkeye62

    hawkeye62 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    No, Control Panel > Backup and Restore > Create Image.

    Part of backup strategy.

    Thanks, Jim
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
    Where are you trying to save the image to? Is the space adequate enough to store the image? When I first created my system image for back up, I also have a separate internal hard drive for just the system image - 320 gig, it took over a full 100 gig. Thats the OS and all the system files and folders. You can change the parameters of the system image backup, to either contain just the OS or just all your files and folders and settings.
     
  5. hawkeye62

    hawkeye62 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have three 500 GB hard drives on my system. HD 0 is Windows 7, HD 1 is used for misc copies, HD 2 is used for backup images. Yes there is enough space on HD 2 for the image.

    Any other ideas?

    Thanks, Jim
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    I believe if it was me, I would take immediate steps to back up all my critical data. Use a files and folders backup solution rather than an image (most imaging software will fail if the drive is still showing as problematic) Backup your profile folder C:\Users\YourUserName. And any other randomly stored critical data.
    WARNING: Continuing to attempt to resolve drive issues by running disk diagnostic utilities may further exacerbate the problem, so make sure your critical data is safe before running the native Check Disk Utility again or any vendor specific hard drive diagnostic utility Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.
    Many hard drives have a few bad sectors and can continue to function fine after the OS has checked and marked the bad sectors. But it can also be an indication of a failing drive when you continue to receive such warnings.
     
  7. hawkeye62

    hawkeye62 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for your reply.

    Yes, I have saved what I believe is all of my user data. (Even the Windows 7 file backup fails, so all copy operations were done manually.)

    And I have an error code from the Event Viewer: 2155348269

    A google turns up several references. One says there are missing or corrupt files. But, there is no solution given.

    Any advice will be appreciated, Jim

     
  8. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Personally I would have already order a replacement for the system drive and started making preparations for a clean custom install upon its' arrival.
    But if you want to roll the dice, then:
    Enter your system's BIOS Utility and turn on the SMART (Self Monitoring and Reporting Technology) feature. See what that shows during POST.
    Re-run the native Check Disk utility.
    Actually I would likely run it on all my drives for added peace of mind.
    Check you hard drive manufacturer's website and find their vendor specific hard drive diagnostic tool. Preferably one that will allow you to check the disk independent of the OS by booting to a CD or Thumb Drive for testing.
    Good Luck
    Randy
     
  9. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    It also never hurts to run a system file check, just in case. In the same Admin window, type sfc /scannow and let it finish.
     
  10. hawkeye62

    hawkeye62 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    I found this thread which seems to describe the same problem that I have. What do you guys think?

    Edit: It would have helped if I had included the link!

    http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en/w7itprogeneral/thread/7f1ffa1f-eeac-4750-a3a9-7371d42f4be5

    Anyway, chkdsk found no errors. And sfc /scannow found no errors. And, a utility cd that came with my PC had a Western Digital disk diagnostic, SMART, that found no errors. So, all diagnostic efforts have found no errors more than the original replaced clusters in six files, yet image creation still fails. Maybe the HD is failing, but if so why no way to confirm? I still wonder if a corrupt file is causing the problem? And why can't some diagnostic find the corrupt file?

    Thanks for any additional advice, Jim
     
    #10 hawkeye62, Aug 25, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2012
  11. hawkeye62

    hawkeye62 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just wanted highlight the edit. Thanks

     
  12. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Sorry, at this point I have no idea why the native Windows 7 Backup Utility is failing to create a system image for you.
    Would you mind trying an alternative options Backup software for data backup and recovery |Acronis use the "Free Trial" button, enter a valid email account and they will send you a trial key.
    Just as a mean to ascertain if the problem is with the Backup Utility or actually a problem with one or more of your drives.
    If Acronis True Image Home 2012 is able to create the .tib archive successfully, then please browse the archive (you should be able to either double click the archive and drill down through the "C" or right click and mount the archive I would suggest only mounting the "C" instance) open a document or image or play an .mp3 from the archive to make sure it is in fact viable.
    Let us know the results.
    Regards
    Randy
     
  13. hawkeye62

    hawkeye62 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks again for your helpful reply. I have Macrium Reflect as a second backup program. It also fails to create an image. Do you think Acronis would be more likely to be successful?

    Also, do you think information in the Event Viewer logs would provide a clue about what is causing the failure? If yes, could you give me a trip on what/how to look? The amount of stuff in those logs is overwhelming.

    Thanks, Jim



     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Probably not, although it might be worth a try and Acronis does create its' own log files which might be helpful although not always easy to interpret.

    No real tips, the event logs (Windows Logs->Application or Windows Logs->System) are sorted default by date and time so, if present they would be near the top immediately following a failed attempted image creation. Generally I select the log (application or system) and then from the action menu choose filter current log, select the check boxes, Critical Warning and Error. Typically that will cut down some of the information and again sort by Date and Time column ascending or descending by simply clicking on the Column Header Name.
     
  15. hawkeye62

    hawkeye62 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi Randy,:biggrin:

    Amazing! Acronis was able to make a .tib file! And music and movies work as expected! During the backup, there were five instances where the backup stopped and displayed a message: "Failed to read sector <sector number> of HD 2. Failed to read the snapshot (0x10c45a) CRC (0x100155)", but there was an option to ignore the sector and the backup continued.

    So, I guess the HD has five bad sectors? I have no idea if that is serious. Since there are no obvious operational symptoms (except the failed creation of an image) I wonder if HD replacement is required?

    I have a question about Acronis. The program options have backup, but nothing called "Make Image". But, it appears that an image is created, not just a file backup?

    Thanks for your help and patience. This is a big load off my shoulders. If I do need to replace the HD, it will be much easier with a current image.

    Thanks again Randy, Jim:biggrin:

     
  16. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Acronis uses the .tib (True Image Backup) file extension for every backup. I am currently beta testing 2013 right now so I don't recall but you should be able to select, under "Backup and Recovery"-> "Other Backups" -> "File Backups" or even email backups. No matter what you choose the same format and complete data structure is contained in the .tib results (except in the case of email backups).
    So if you backup a single folder containing a single file the result will be SingleFolderSingleFile.tib and when you go to browse the .tib file you will have to drill down through the data structure beginning with the partition. The email backup feature doesn't contain partition data structure information so is not browseable. Also you might want to look at the advanced options under the disk and partition backup settings, there should be a check box to "Ignore Bad Sectors" which should prevent you having to tend the prompts.
    Anyway, glad to hear that you have something now that at least makes you feel more comfortable.
     

Share This Page

Loading...