Windows 7 Windows 7 Installation Failure

The McSmashy

I got the error code 0x80070005 when trying to install Windows 7, the error displayed

Windows cannot install required files. Network problems may be preventing Windows from accessing the file. Make sure the computer is connected to the network and restart the installation. Error code: 0x80070005

Can I get a bit of help? D:

SUPER EDIT POWERS: I've got a 64 bit Vista running on an Asus G50V Laptop, and I'm trying to upgrade to the 64 bit Professional

Last edited:
Hi smashy,
can you not back up what you can and then do a fresh install? We have had many, many posts regarding errors coming from users upgrading. The fix has always been to do a fresh install...

Unfortunately, I don't have the disk. I'm a student at Rochester Institute of Technology, and I got an ISO of Windows 7 through the MSDNAA. I tried burning it to a DVD and making it bootable, but my computer won't boot it at start-up. (Yes, I changed the boot order so it would first try and boot from the CD/DVD tray, and then the HD)

I've already backed up all my important files on a SVN client, so I guess the big problem now is: What am I doing wrong when burning? I'm burning it at x8 speed using Power2Go, and I selected that 'Make bootable' option. Should I close the CD so it can't have anything else added?

Should also mention: When I do try and boot the DVD, I just get a flashing underscore, kinda like a prompt except I can't do anything. I left it like this for an hour to see if it was just slow, but no dice.

Sorry if this question has been asked before, I skimmed the titles of the threads and I didn't really see any names that caught my eye.

EDIT (Because I do it a lot) I'm trying something else for the DVD Burning, I'll post back if it borks

Last edited:
Hi,