Windows 7 installation stuck

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by isotoper, Nov 2, 2010.

  1. isotoper

    isotoper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,
    Guys, I must have a solution for that because I'm treating with this installation for about a week (and a lot of re-installations).

    I'm trying to install Win7 on my PC.
    I'm getting a black screen right before the language screen is suppose to be shown.
    This is happen right at the beginning : the white installation line is running in the bottom of the screen and then a Windows logo appear, right after that suppose to be the small window with the language selection, but instead , I see a black screen.

    I CHANGED the cd's for couple of times, this is not the cd.
    I also copied the image to a flash drive and tried to install from there - Stuck exactly at the same phase.

    Please.... someone... Help .... :confused:
     
  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hi and welcome.

    Remove all memory from the pc, except one module closest to the cpu. If the motherboard has onboard video, remove the video card too and plug the monitor into the motherboard.

    Then turn on the machine and go into the bios and set the optimized defaults and save. Make sure if there is a setting for Plug & Play OS, it is set to yes and also save.

    Once Windows installs well, replace the card and memory into the machine while power is off. Boot to Windows and hope for the best. Then install the latest video card driver from either ATI or NVIDIA:

    NVIDIA

    Drivers & Support | GAME.AMD.COM

    ------------

    If you currently have a 2nd monitor or a tv attached to the video card, then that is the problem. Leave only one monitor attached and then install, while forgetting the above.
     
  3. isotoper

    isotoper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi and thanks for quick answering .
    I have only one memory stick.
    I'm using the onboard video card.
    The BIOS is already set as optimized defaults (new brand PC).
    I don't have second monitor.

    Any idea ?
     
  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Test the memory for many passes (8-10) with Memtest86+. If any errors show, replace the RAM.
     
  5. isotoper

    isotoper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think that it's a memory issue because if I'm trying to install XP it works fine.
     
  6. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Purchase an authentic copy of Windows then, instead of using torrents with malware and having us try to figure out what the issue is.
     
  7. isotoper

    isotoper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi ,
    The problem has been solved, I installed a copy of XP and then upgraded it with the WIN7 cd. That worked for me.

    Thanks.
     
  8. fjgold

    fjgold New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    60
    I thought a direct upgrade from XP wasn't possible?
     
  9. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    No, it's not.
     
  10. isotoper

    isotoper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    What do you mean by "it's not" ? I just told you I did it ...
     
  11. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    #11 TorrentG, Nov 3, 2010
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2010
  12. isotoper

    isotoper New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    That means you cannot install WIN7 and keep your application and settings. But, you absolutely can install a fresh new
    WIN7 installation from within the WINXP environment. Just insert the WIN7 CD and a popup window will appear, then select the installation and there you go.
     
  13. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Fresh new does not = upgrade.

    Therein lies the misunderstanding due to your error in previous posting.
     
  14. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833

Share This Page

Loading...