Windows 7 Log In

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by 4208Nef, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. 4208Nef

    4208Nef New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My cousin has a small problem. She tried to change her password on her Windows 7 laptop, but it kept saying the passwords didn't match. Now when she tries to log in, it says the password is wrong.

    Is there any way of resetting her password, without formatting the whole PC.
    Now we've tried her old password, CAPS and many other variations. Can anyone help?
    I think her account is the administrator account, but I'm not sure.

    Thanks in advance...
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  3. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    If Mike's suggestion doesn't work, this is one I use on my travels, inprder to circumvent the password (legally- lol) doesn't always work but the success rate is good.

    Boot into Windows 7 computer.
    Kepp pressing F8 to enter the Boot Options Window.
    Choose Safe Mode with Command Prompt and Enter.
    A Command Prompt will eventually appear. Type net user in the Command Prompt and Enter.
    All the user account names will be listed for you. This should be sufficient for you problem, but if in difficulties, you can reset the password.
    Type netuser davehc xxx and Enter. (See note below).
    When the command says that it was completed successfully,Your new password has been successfully entered, and you can now log on.

    substitute davehc Windows user account name. substitute xxx for your the new password
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
  5. 4208Nef

    4208Nef New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I do this, there's never a chance for me to type in net user... after booting it just goes straight to the log in screen. Am I doing something wrong?
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Try and log in as Administrator - no password
     

Share This Page

Loading...