Windows 7 not picked up in boot menu

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by taz13, Nov 16, 2009.

  1. taz13

    taz13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey
    So i wanted to install a clean copy of windows 7 so i changed my boot priority and tried to load from my dvd drive but the "Press any key to boot from cd" line does not come it just skips it. My vista cd works fine but windows 7 doesn't.
    Anyway to solve this?

    (i cant do clean copy while in vista)
     
  2. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64
    Disable all other boot options. You may have to unplug the power to your hard drive to verify your disk will boot in the dvd.
     
  3. taz13

    taz13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tried that, All it asks me to do is select a device to boot from or insert cd to boot from and press any key, My cd is in and when i press it "enter" the message just repeats
     
  4. tblount

    tblount New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,537
    Likes Received:
    64

    Will it read ANY cd? If you burned this one from an ISO yourself you may need to burn it again at 4x or slower.
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Get into the BIOS and make sure your DVD-ROM is listed as the first boot device.
     
  6. taz13

    taz13 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it reads my vista cd fine, ive tried to burn it twice, same issue, The cd works fine when im in windows
     
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I'd say bad DVD.

    Try re-burning the ISO at it's slowest speed and use a good quality name-brand DVD. I use Imgburn, you cab download it here:
    The Official ImgBurn Website
     
  8. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    I get this on some older cd/dvd roms when installing if I use +media or Rewritables , I suggest you try burn to another dvd type ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...