Windows 7 only recognizing 1 of my 2 gigs of ram

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by ebaystores, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. ebaystores

    ebaystores New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am running 64 bit beta on an intel celeron d 3.46 processor with 2 gigs of ram (config 2 x 1 gig sticks), however windows 7 is only recognizing it as having 1 gig ram any suggestions? Thanks,
    Mendy
     
  2. Raypep

    Raypep New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting because I am running 4gb of Ram in my windows 7 64 bit and it is recgonizing all of it plus the other gb of Video Memory. You can always try to put the ram in different slots and test it to make sure they arent fried or something. I can't quite think of something else.
     
  3. Stigern

    Stigern New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats weird, what does it show in bios? 2048?
     
  4. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    Interesting little scenario you have here. I would suggest do the windows memory diagnostic test and see if it finds anything wrong with the memory. If it does then it needs to be replaced.
     
  5. freddy1408

    freddy1408 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried any other OS's to see if they recognize 1gb?
     

Share This Page

Loading...