Windows 7 RTM x64 slow trasfer speed

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by sup3r1or, Oct 6, 2009.

  1. sup3r1or

    sup3r1or New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Windows 7 RTM x64 slow data transfer speeds

    Greetings,

    I'm experiencing weird problems, I have Windows 7 64bit RTM (latest) installed, with latest critical updates from MSDN.
    Now I have 2 HDD's 500 GB one is split into 2 drives C (200GB) D (the rest) and the other drive is full 500GB for my media files.

    Now today I wanted to trasfer movie folder from my last drive to D drive, the size is 144GB it took me over 2 hours. That has never happened on vista, on vista I trasfered 390 GB in under 1 hour, andf I was still able to watch tv show.

    On 7 I cant even use search in start menu when Im copying, how can sata 2 give 50mb/sec trasfer rate? that is impossible.

    Its not raid hook up, just normal. AHCI mode.

    Anyone has any solutions? this is rediculous.
     
    #1 sup3r1or, Oct 6, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2009
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,789
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Hi sup3r1or,
    when you installed 7, was a upgrade or full install? If it was an upgrade try a clean install as we've had many posts from users experienceing problems after upgrading and a clean install is usually the fix..
    If that isn't the case, try running chkdsk with the box ticked to repair broken sectors.
    Also, what are your drivers like, especially chipset? Are they the latest versions available?

    Lastly, check my screenshot. I'm sure you've probably got these ticked but if not, try it as it can improve performance..
     
  3. sup3r1or

    sup3r1or New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kemical

    My hard drives are new WD Caviar Black 7200 Rpm 500GB each, 1 is split into C and D and another one is just one drive 500gb. I do not use raid, just regular sata connection, bios is set to AHCI.

    My mobo is gigabyte GA-EP35C-DS3R, windows is done through clean install I have never upgraded my installs.

    The ticks are there? Any other suggestions
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,789
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  5. sup3r1or

    sup3r1or New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kemical,

    Regarding the sata driver, well I never updated it, since this RTM version already had all the drivers in it, the thing that hesistates me from updating is that mobo has 2 SATA chips one from intel another one from Gigabyte and Im not sure which one is working. (Im pretty sure not both). I had it working the same way in Vista but, never had any problems like this one.
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,789
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Why not check your device manager to see which one is working? You could update the friver through Device manager too..
     
  7. Davst

    Davst New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,789
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I know this is a bit obvious (but easy to miss) but on the back of the SATA HD is a switch to flip it from 150 to 300 (SATA1 to SATA II) do you know if this is in the correct position? (if your HDD is configured that way of course)
     
  9. Davst

    Davst New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's in the same position as when i had good performance before i installed win 7 so they are in sata II mode, thanks for the suggestion though, this problem as i see it is software based
     
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,789
    Likes Received:
    1,563
  11. Davst

    Davst New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Installed the drivers from intel (There is one for Win 7 which is nice btw.)

    Was hoping this was the missing link but I did a 8 gigabyte copy to test it

    From C: to D:, both NTFS, newly formatted according to what Windows 7 wanted (with that 200mb system partition and so)

    Average copy speed was still 16-18 mb per second, and opening a web browser while copying took well over 2 minutes, same with page loads took very long and got the occasional few seconds of not responding.

    All in this time the ram usage was never over 1.67GB and CPU usage never went over 25% while browsing the net (Except once or twice while the browser was booting)

    For testing purposes i tried this in Firefox and Chrome with the same general crap browsing results.


    These problems kind of bring you back to the days of Windows 95/98 where there was no true multitasking.

    Anyways, the tip about the chipset driver was great, didn't know it was out since gigabyte hadn't updated their site..
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,789
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Sorry to hear that wasn't the fix...

    What about running chkdsk and ticking the box to repair bad sectors?

    Also, what about the mobo bios? Is it the latest version?
     
  13. InterTwined

    InterTwined New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having the same problem, this isn't a hardware problem and it didn't happen in the beggining. Seagate 1.5tb, that i thought it was defective, it's new, but just installed the previous drive WD640 and the transfer speeds remain, always below 10mb\s after some time.
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,789
    Likes Received:
    1,563

Share This Page

Loading...