Windows 7 Ultimate x64 hangs at "Verifying DMI pool data"

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by ftsk, Oct 10, 2009.

  1. ftsk

    ftsk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    I had a problem before with Windows 7 and I recieved excellent help. Hopefully you will be able to help me with this as well. I recently reformatted my PC and installed Windows 7. Upon installing, everything went as planned however I did notice one thing out of the ordinary. After the installation is complete and it loads the first time use of the new system with the word "Welcome" on my screen, it will then change to "Shutting Down". My computer then shuts down, I turn it back on but then once it gets to the words "Verifying DMI pool data .... Update Complete" it doesn't do anything else but sit there

    I have no USB devices connected to my computer,

    Forgive me if you give me directions and I am a tad slow with them, I am not to sure about where to find things etc when entering the bios. My bios also has the latest update version.

    I only have 1 hard drive, and 1 disk drive.

    The rest of my specs are,

    Antec Nine Hundred Case
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Brisbane 3.1GHz Socket AM2 Dual-Core
    PNY GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB XLR8
    CORSAIR 4GB (2 x 2GB)
    OCZ StealthXStream 700W Power Supply
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
  3. ftsk

    ftsk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0



    How would I do these things?

    Source: Computer stops at verifying dmi pool data....



    Heres my some of the settings in my bios

    Advanced Bios Features

    ATA 66/100 IDE Cable Msg. Enabled
    Removable Device Priority Press Enter
    Hard Disk Boot Priority Press Enter
    CD Rom Boot Priority Press Enter
    CPU Internal Cache Enabled
    External Cache Disabled
    Quick Power On Self Test Enabled
    First boot device Hard Disk
    Second Boot device Diabled
    Third boot device diabled
    Boot other device disabled
    Boot up floppy seek disabled
    Boot up numlock status On
    Security Option Setup
    OS Select for DRAM > 64MB Non-OS2
    HDD SMART Capability Disabled
    Full Screen LOGO Show Enabled
    Small Logo EPA Show Diabled

    Intergrated Peripherals

    South Onchip IDE Device Press Enter
    IDE DMA Transfer access Enabled
    OnChip IDEA Channel0 Enabled
    Primary Master PIO Auto
    Primary Slave PIO Auto
    Primary Master UDMA Auto
    Primary Slave UDMA Auto
    ATI SATA Controller Enabled
    ATI Sata Type Native IDE
    IDE HDD Block Mode Enabled


    Standard CMOS Features

    IDE Channel 0 Master - SONY CD-RW/DVD-ROM C
    IDE Channel 0 Slave None
    IDE Channel 2 Master - MAXTOR STM3160814AS
    IDE Channel 2 Slave None
    IDE Channel 3 Master None
    IDE Channel 2 Slave none
     
    #3 ftsk, Oct 10, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Since this is a brand new install, rather than going though all the BIOS options,
    I 'd suggest you re burn another ISO using a quality brand-name DVD at its slowest speed (1x)

    You can use Imgburn to perform this:
    The Official ImgBurn Website

    Or...............
    Possible fixes:

    1. If you changed the hardware just before this problem occurred
    (e.g., installed a new hard disk drive), unchange it.

    2. If you installed a new hard disk drive, set the motherboard CMOS Setup to Auto for the
    drive type. You may have to disconnect the drive first.

    3. Enable "Reset Configuration Data" (may be "Force Update ESCD" in some CMOS Setuups) in
    the motherboard CMOS Setup PNP/PCI configuration. (Rebooting will automatically disabled
    it after it has done its thing.)

    4. The CMOS may be corrupted. Clear it.
     
    #4 reghakr, Oct 10, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  5. NovaEddie

    NovaEddie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same Issue

    I am having the exact same issue and thought I would come here for some help. I am installing Windows 7 x64. The machine I am installing on is as follows:

    Acer Aspire T671
    3GB Ram
    Pentium Duel 2.8 GHZ
    Micro Star MS-7326
    250GB HD

    System originally came with Vista installed and booted fine. I was able to install Windows 7 with no issues and on the last reboot of the install it hangs on Verifying DMI Pool Data... (Half the time I get update success and the other half nothing) but regardless it always hangs.

    I am able to boot back from the Windows 7 cd and get into the diagnostic, I am also able to boot from a XP disc and install and boot into that OS.


    • I have tried clearing the cmos by removing the battery, and moving the jumpers. I have also reset the bios by way of the jumpers with no success.
    • I have removed all non essential hardware and booting with no success.
    • I have also tried booting with each of the 3 different sticks of ram with no success.
    I have since reinstalled XP and have no issues with that OS. I am stuck and the last thing to do that I would like to avoid is to flash the bios.

    Anyone have any other suggestions? There are partitions on the drive, could that be an issue?

    Thanks,

    Ed
     
  6. NovaEddie

    NovaEddie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Also, could this have anything to do with with Windows 7 not recognizing my Sata hard drive after the last reboot?
     
  7. NovaEddie

    NovaEddie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fixed It

    I deleted all the partitions from the drive, formated and reinstalled and it took it. 4 installs later and it finally works...
     
  8. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    I don't remember for sure, but do some BIOS have an option for allowing or not allowing updating the DMI? I may be thinking of something else.

    Have you checked for any Bios updates for your motherboard? I am not suggesting you do an update since it could cause problems if it messes up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...