Windows 7 uses WAYY too much RAM! 3gb/4gb!! (Used 1gb at idle before)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by Domokun1986, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. Domokun1986

    Domokun1986 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wierd problem here guys

    Quick specs
    Phenom II x4 3.2ghz
    4gb DDR2 800

    PC use to run flawless. Very fast. During idle it would use only 1gb/4gb of ram which is normal

    Now it uses 3gb at idle! At startup it will be at 1gb, but after I run a memory intense application (Starcraft 2 which uses 2gb approx) afterwards it will idle at 3gb! The system will then run slow and sluggish, applications take double the time to load. I've tried various free ram applications but they dont work! If I restart the PC it will go back to 1gb but as soon as I run a memory intense application it will go back to a slow sluggish 3gb!

    It also seems to do it whenever the system goes into standby/hibernate and boots up... desktop.

    Here is a detailed desktop screenshot
     
  2. CommonTater

    CommonTater New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    36
    What anti-virus are you using?
     
  3. Domokun1986

    Domokun1986 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using NOD ESET 32. I've had it running since the installation of Windows 7 and never had a problem with it
     
  4. CommonTater

    CommonTater New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    36
    Ok... I'll let the others take a shot at it then.

    It's just that some AV software --Norton in particular-- are prone to pull dumb stunts like this.
     
  5. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    What other security software do you use firewall, antispyware, etc. Did you have another antivirus on before NOD?
    Joe
     
  6. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Good posts guys. Yeah A/V usually causes things like this, so make sure ESET is updated to latest.

    Other than that, standby/sleep/hibernate issues are from drivers. I can take a look at what you have if you post the msinfo32.

    Type msinfo32 in the start menu then press enter. File | save on the opened screen. Zip the saved file then attach the zip to a post.
     
  7. Domokun1986

    Domokun1986 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here you go Sir, just as directed. Thank you for your help.

    By the way I uninstalled ESET and will run it for a few days to see how it goes
     
    #7 Domokun1986, Sep 16, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2010
  8. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    You're welcome.

    The GeForce GTS 250 NVIDIA video driver is a little old and probably not causing any issues, but it would be good to update anyhow:

    NVIDIA

    ------------

    Your Realtek lan driver is very old, from before Windows 7 RTM. Update it from here:

    RTL8111

    ------------

    You really want to uninstall the FreeRAM program. Believe me when I tell you, these programs are pure snake oil. Windows 7 was designed to handle memory in an absolute great way, the best of all OS they've ever made. These programs mess that all up and actually make the pc slower, because now it has to go and get data from hdd when it should have been in memory (and it's not because it's been cleared.)

    Steer far away from these types of apps. Terrible to performance.
     
    Domokun1986 and (deleted member) like this.

Share This Page

Loading...