Windows 7 with a Vista boot screen

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by gaitch32, May 20, 2011.

  1. gaitch32

    gaitch32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I caused it but I am wondering if anybody ever heard of this and if I can change it back.

    I am running windows 7 and I booted into safe mode to do a sfc /scannow. I was having another small issue and thought that I would just do that to check if it would fix it. After I rebooted I got a boot menu that said that I have Windows 7 and Vista installed and I should pick which OS I wanted. This was upgraded from Vista. I picked Windows 7 and it couldn’t find it. Tried again and picked Vista and it couldn’t find it either. That wasn’t good. I had a Vista recovery disk from Neosmart and tried that. It booted on that and detected right away that there was an issue and offered to fix it. I let it and when it rebooted, I got the Vista startup screen but it was my Windows 7 that I ended up with. It couldn’t be any different because that is all that is on it.

    I am assuming that because I used a Vista disk for the repair is why that happed but when I try to now use a Windows 7 recovery disk, it doesn’t change back. Not that it is really important, but wondering if I can change it back. Otherwise, I guess as long as it is working, not going to worry about it.
     
    #1 gaitch32, May 20, 2011
    Last edited: May 20, 2011
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You cold just boot into the WinRe (recovery environment) from an F8 key possibly, or boot to a recovery CD or install DVD and in the Repair the computer options is a command window. Use that and type the following.

    Bootrec /rebuildbcd

    This should rebuild the Boot senario. Instructions for Bootrec are here.

    If you want to see what it looks like now, you can open an administrative command prompt and type BCDedit to see how it is set up. You could also edit it yourself if you wanted to go that direction.
     
  3. gaitch32

    gaitch32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK here is what I get.


    C:\Users\Greg>^VBCDedit
    '▬BCDedit' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    C:\Users\Greg>BCDedit

    Windows Boot Manager
    --------------------
    identifier {bootmgr}
    device partition=C:
    path \bootmgr
    description Windows Boot Manager
    locale en-US
    inherit {globalsettings}
    default {current}
    resumeobject {96ce6ae1-85ab-11df-8d11-c869802f9997}
    displayorder {current}
    toolsdisplayorder {memdiag}
    {572bcd56-ffa7-11d9-aae0-0007e994107d}
    timeout 30

    Windows Boot Loader
    -------------------
    identifier {current}
    device partition=C:
    path \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    description Windows 7 Ultimate (recovered)
    recoverysequence {96ce6ae3-85ab-11df-8d11-c869802f9997}
    recoveryenabled Yes
    osdevice partition=C:
    systemroot \Windows
    resumeobject {24c67bc9-8329-11e0-aaa4-806e6f6e6963}

    C:\Users\Greg>



    crap, right? Nothing that is telling me it is hot.........
     
  4. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    The attachment is what you should have. The reference to a Harddisk is because of the small partition, and the numbers will of course be different.

    The reason you are seeing a Vista boot is probably because you have the (Recovered) on your Windows 7 entry.

    Have you done the Bootrec command yet. Make note the instructions talk about deleting the original BCD Store if you do not get a good replacement.

    Edit: And if that doesn't work, we can replace the entire boot system, or you can download EasyBCD version 2 or above and let it set up the boot for you.
     

    Attached Files:

    #4 Saltgrass, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 23, 2011
  5. gaitch32

    gaitch32 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am sure it is because I used the disk., I don't know why it won't change back
     
    #5 gaitch32, May 23, 2011
    Last edited: May 23, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...