Windows 8 boots in eight seconds

Discussion in 'Windows 8 Help and Support' started by whoosh, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,721
    Likes Received:
    381
     
    #1 whoosh, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2013
  2. OldTimer

    OldTimer Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    29
    Hmmmmm! I wonder how they did that.
    Very few computers can even finish a post and load the OS from the hard drive in 8 sec's.
    Maybe they had the OS on ROM.

    :cool:
     
  3. Medico

    Medico Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    65
    I suppose with an SSD HD and everything optimixed, and fast enough processor and fast Ram, who knows. Seems VERY optimistic, but something to shoot for.
     
  4. OldTimer

    OldTimer Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    29
    I'm thinking a little more like 'slight of hand' since I have a very fast PC and Win-8 boots up a lot slower than that on my own PC.

    SSD's seem to be all the rage right now, but I see one serious bottleneck on any mobo with SATA II ports. The SATA II controller is going to set the speed at which data can be transferred, regardless of just how fast the drive itself is.

    Before I waste money on an SSD drive, I want to first have a SATA III (6GBM) motherboard and then buy a SATA III SSD drive.
    SATA III is going to be SATA III, regardless of whether the drive is a standard SATA III drive or an SSD SATA III drive.

    Data access speed, will be the deciding factor.

    Cheers Mates!
    The Doctor :cool:
     
  5. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    I wasn't too impressed.
    1. She was using an EliteBook 8640p Intel Core i7-2620M, 8GB, 160GB SSD.
    2. What happened to the login screen, which, for me, requires input.
    3. It seemed a little bare of some of the mandatory software which appears on the screen, when I log in.

    She probably loaded it from a stored hibernate. As with Drwho, I cannot get past any of my computers essentials (Bios etc) in 8 seconds. But. It does boot up a bit faster than previous OSs.
     
  6. OldTimer

    OldTimer Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    29
    No Logon Screen here...... NEVER! There's NO reason to have to Login to my own computer, where
    I'm the only operator.
    But, I do set up my computer to do some basic maintenance on boot.
    From the Startup folder, I run my Cleanup batch file and I run a little script to force a new Restore Point.
    On my main PC, not my W8 PC, I also run my email program to go out and get my mail.

    So my boot up time is stretched just a bit. :)

    How long any one PC would take to boot up is dependent on many factors, like the speed of the CPU
    and hard drive and how much ram is installed; how many TSR's are loading and how many Services are
    set to load on boot.

    Everybody's PC is a bit different, so comparing John's PC to Gertrude's PC is almost pointless. I've
    worked on customer's PC's, that took six to ten minutes to boot up, when I first got there and 30
    seconds when I left. The difference? The amount of adware, spyware, trojans and just plain JUNK
    on the PC.

    Before this becomes a RANT, for your own entertainment, there is a script that times your re-boot
    time. That's only important for tuning your own PC for the fastest boot times and should not be
    used to compare your PC with someone else's PC.

    The little reboot timer program can be downloaded here:
    RebootTimer.vbs - File Shared from Box - Free Online File Storage

    Happy Holidays!
    The Doctor :cool:
     
  7. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    As I said in anearlier post, I have two users, so I do require to input something. Buy, with only one user, I still get the green logon screen, which, without input, leads into the desktop. That is the one to which I was I was referring.
     
  8. OldTimer

    OldTimer Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    806
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yes, I get that green screen too, but the OS continues to boot up. I guess that's the new normal.
     
    #8 OldTimer, Nov 30, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 3, 2011
  9. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    It is probably a replacement for the old "Welcome" screen which continues to welcome the user for some seconds! Lol.
     
  10. Medico

    Medico Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    65
    I have the log in screen because I chose the log in to my live id account during log in. I suppose I could change this and see what the effects are. I will have to explore this possibility when I have a few minutes.
     

Share This Page

Loading...