Windows could not configure one or more system components

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by steve81, Jan 12, 2009.

  1. steve81

    steve81 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to do a clean install of Windows 7 build 7000 32-bit (downloaded from microsoft.com) on a 30 GB partition. During the "Completing installation..." phase, I get a pop-up with this message:

    I looked in the logs, here are the last lines of X:\Windows\Panther\setuperr.log:

    Any idea?
     
  2. steve81

    steve81 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried again, doing the update at the beggining of the install (through Windows XP) and making sure it could connect to the internet during the installation (I could see the light blinking on my router during installation, so it was connecting online). I also tried disconnecting as many devices I could. I'm still getting the same error. Here are the logs in X:\Windows\Panther\:

    X:\Windows\Panther\setupact.log
    X:\Windows\Panther\setuperr.log
    X:\Windows\Panther\cbs.log
    X:\Windows\Panther\DDACLSys.log
    X:\Windows\Panther\UnattendGC\setupact.log
    X:\Windows\Panther\UnattendGC\setuperr.log

    I also know it's not a problem with the ISO, I redownloaded it and mounted it with DAEMON Tools Lite in Windows XP (no need to burn the ISO using this method).
     
  3. Lovemetal

    Lovemetal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem with this build, and noone can tell what is the problem... Maybe it something about hardware incompatibility?
     
  4. logicwonder

    logicwonder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the same error at the end of Windows 7 64-bit installation.

    I too got the same message in the last stage of Windows 7 64-bit installation. I installed Windows 7 64-bit as dual boot with my Windows Vista (32-bit). My processor is AMD64 Athlon X2 with 1GB RAM and 30 GB free space in the hard disk partition D: . After I restarted the system, and during the start up of Windows 7, I get another error message.

    Please suggest a solution to this problem.
     
    #4 logicwonder, Jan 25, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  5. steve81

    steve81 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the error I get during the install:

    [​IMG]

    If I restart, I get this pop-up:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Pardon me. I am ignorant on this, but what is "Panther" and why the curious path to the install? That would seem to be a possible problem??
     
  7. Lovemetal

    Lovemetal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    2 Steve81: I get the same error messages!
    2 davehc: No, I don't think that the path is the problem, because I install it to default directory and have the same problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...