Windows Experience Index Problem

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jmeyering, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. jmeyering

    jmeyering New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I just did a clean install with 7, and When I try to run the WEI program, It hangs up on the Video decoding section. I'll be the first to admit my computer is a piece of crap. only 1.5 gb ram, Intel integrated graphics

    Any ideas why this might be happening? MY whole computer freezes on me and I have to force shut it down.
     
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Personally, I think it's due to your graphics card. It just can't pass that particular intensive test, probably due to not enough video memory.

    Look up the model of your graghics card and visit the manufacturer's site for updated Vista drivers.

    May help, my not.

    If that's the only problem you're experiencing, I wouldn't worry about it
     
  3. Paulie

    Paulie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same problem, stopped on media decoder and would not enable aero/superbar. I knew it wasn't my computer cos it was a brand new Acer with q6700 and 9500gt 4gig ram. What i discoverd was people who were trying dual monitors were having same issue and although I never had dual monitors I had both connections hooked up to my monitor/card. Unhooked one and it was problem solved, yippee. Check your cables etc etc because windows 7 is supposed to run of your processors power and not the graphics power. If you processors is able well then it should run. Good luck!
     
  4. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    I have noticed in build 7022 that the Windows Experience Index works slightly better.. ;) My main PC's lowest score on build 7000 was 5.9 (primary hard drive), it's now a 6.2 (primary hard disk).. :)
     
  5. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    What integrated graphics chipset do you have? (to find out, go to start>type devmgmt.msc in the search box, expand the "display adapters" field and look at the name of the device). IF it says "standard VGA graphics adapter" it means that your graphics card is probably too old and doesn't have drivers for Windows 7
     
  6. jmeyering

    jmeyering New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    It says I have
    Mobile Intel(R) 915GM/GMS,910GML Express Chipset Family
     
  7. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Ok, So it is supported. Now we need to know some additional information, click start>type dxdiag then go to the "Display tab" and in the "Device" section, look to see how much approximate memory it has. Also, Under the "DirectX Features and the notes" section, see if there is any problems
     
  8. jmeyering

    jmeyering New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has 186 MB of memory to it, and there were no notes or errors.
     
  9. Mitchell_A

    Mitchell_A Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,068
    Likes Received:
    240
    Alright, so considering that chipset is about 3 years old, You may want to check for updates for it. Or an earlier poster may be right, the hardware simply may not be able to pass that intensive of a test.
     
  10. jmeyering

    jmeyering New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so new development, you and an earlier poster tipped me off to something.

    Paulie: "What i discoverd was people who were trying dual monitors were having same issue and although I never had dual monitors I had both connections hooked up to my monitor/card. Unhooked one and it was problem solved, yippee."

    So when I was in device manager, I noticed that there were two displays active, so I disabled one and now the Windows Experience Index runs, but I get an error.

    "Cannot complete assesment. The assessment did not complete successfully. This is due to an error being reported by the operating system, driver, or other component."

    Any thoughts here. I'm thinking its probably just telling me my hardware sucks, which I'm aware of.

    But if you know of any other possibilities I'm free to listen! Thanks
     
  11. Paulie

    Paulie New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Glad I could be of some kind of assistance. Cant really comment on your next problem because I haven't come across it. I really dont think its a hardware problem because like I say windows 7 is optimized to run off processor power. Question "why did it show as having dual monitors in device manager, do you have dual monitors?" It does not sound like you have dual monitors if you say your hardware "sucks". If you dont then its likely to be a bad install. I would suggest another fresh install and make sure all is well in device manager before running the index. Keep us posted and good luck.
     
  12. jmeyering

    jmeyering New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont run dual monitors, But I am able to if I wish. There were two displays enabled in device manager, I just disabled one, but yeah, whatever it was now the index runs...just with that error.
     

Share This Page

Loading...