Windows folder not opening in explorer by default

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by sweetmailer, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. sweetmailer

    sweetmailer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,:eek:
    Recently i installed adobe photoshop cs5. After installing now when i try to open any folder by double clicking on it, it opens in adobe bridge.:confused::confused::confused::frown: I have to right click on the folder and then OPEN, then only it opens in explorer.:(:(:(
    I tried the Default file associations in control panel but couldnt find the folder extension.
    How can i change the default settingsso that when i open any folder by double clicking on it, it will open as usual in windows explorer.

    I am using windows7 ultimate, 32bit. 3gb ram, 250 hdd, amd turion x2 processor with 2ghz speed.

    thank u.:eek:
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    Has this behavior always been the same since you installed Adobe? Have you tried their forums?


    ~~~~~~~~~

    There must be a setting for this in Adobe bridge, if not then set defaults in control panel>folder options. If still no luck, try re-registerring Windows Shell library by opening up the elevated command prompt and typing regsvr32 shell32.dll and then hitting 'enter'. Restart the system.

    (HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open)
     
  3. sweetmailer

    sweetmailer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks CYberCore.:)
    I haven't tried adobe's forum till now. Earlier i was using photoshop cs4 and i had no problem. But now when i installed photoshop cs5 this problem came up.
    i reinstalled it every time the same problem crops up.

    There is a setting in preference in adobe bridge about file extension but there is no option for folders.
    I have tried Folder options in control panel but no effect. I re registered the shell library by opening command propmpt and restarted the system but no effect.

    I also tried registry cleaner, error fixer but no effect. :mad::mad::(:(:confused::confused:
     
  4. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Are you happy going into the registry (search regedit.exe), if you are GoTo this registry key:-

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\FileExts\Directory.
    ..
    Expand the Directory folder (key), you should have two sub-folders (keys) One is OpenWithList, the other is OpenWithProgids, (you may have more??).

    What you need to check for is a key called UserChoice. If you find one, delete it. If you don't find one, this code saved as a .reg file should restore your default folder settings.
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder]
    "ContentViewModeLayoutPatternForBrowse"="delta"
    "ContentViewModeForBrowse"="prop:~System.ItemNameDisplay;~System.LayoutPattern.PlaceHolder;~System.LayoutPattern.PlaceHolder;~System.LayoutPattern.PlaceHolder;System.DateModified"
    "ContentViewModeLayoutPatternForSearch"="alpha"
    "ContentViewModeForSearch"="prop:~System.ItemNameDisplay;System.DateModified;~System.ItemFolderPathDisplay"
    @="Folder"
    "EditFlags"=hex:d2,03,00,00
    "FullDetails"="prop:System.PropGroup.Description;System.ItemNameDisplay;System.ItemTypeText;System.Size"
    "NoRecentDocs"=""
    "ThumbnailCutoff"=dword:00000000
    "TileInfo"="prop:System.Title;System.ItemTypeText"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\DefaultIcon]
    @=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
      00,5c,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,73,00,68,00,\
      65,00,6c,00,6c,00,33,00,32,00,2e,00,64,00,6c,00,6c,00,2c,00,33,00,00,00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore]
    "MultiSelectModel"="Document"
    "ProgrammaticAccessOnly"=""
    "LaunchExplorerFlags"=dword:00000018
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\explore\command]
    "DelegateExecute"="{11dbb47c-a525-400b-9e80-a54615a090c0}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open]
    "MultiSelectModel"="Document"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\open\command]
    "DelegateExecute"="{11dbb47c-a525-400b-9e80-a54615a090c0}"
    @=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,74,00,25,\
      00,5c,00,45,00,78,00,70,00,6c,00,6f,00,72,00,65,00,72,00,2e,00,65,00,78,00,\
      65,00,00,00
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\opennewprocess]
    "MUIVerb"="@shell32.dll,-8518"
    "MultiSelectModel"="Document"
    "Extended"=""
    "LaunchExplorerFlags"=dword:00000003
    "ExplorerHost"="{ceff45ee-c862-41de-aee2-a022c81eda92}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\opennewprocess\command]
    "DelegateExecute"="{11dbb47c-a525-400b-9e80-a54615a090c0}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\opennewwindow]
    "MUIVerb"="@shell32.dll,-8517"
    "MultiSelectModel"="Document"
    "OnlyInBrowserWindow"=""
    "LaunchExplorerFlags"=dword:00000001
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\shell\opennewwindow\command]
    "DelegateExecute"="{11dbb47c-a525-400b-9e80-a54615a090c0}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\ContextMenuHandlers]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\ContextMenuHandlers\BriefcaseMenu]
    @="{85BBD920-42A0-1069-A2E4-08002B30309D}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\ContextMenuHandlers\Library Location]
    @="{3dad6c5d-2167-4cae-9914-f99e41c12cfa}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\ContextMenuHandlers\Offline Files]
    @="{474C98EE-CF3D-41f5-80E3-4AAB0AB04301}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\DragDropHandlers]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\DragDropHandlers\{BD472F60-27FA-11cf-B8B4-444553540000}]
    @=""
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\PropertySheetHandlers]
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\PropertySheetHandlers\BriefcasePage]
    @="{85BBD920-42A0-1069-A2E4-08002B30309D}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellEx\PropertySheetHandlers\Offline Files]
    @="{7EFA68C6-086B-43e1-A2D2-55A113531240}"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellNew]
    "Directory"=""
    "IconPath"=hex(2):25,00,53,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,52,00,6f,00,6f,00,\
      74,00,25,00,5c,00,73,00,79,00,73,00,74,00,65,00,6d,00,33,00,32,00,5c,00,73,\
      00,68,00,65,00,6c,00,6c,00,33,00,32,00,2e,00,64,00,6c,00,6c,00,2c,00,33,00,\
      00,00
    "ItemName"="@shell32.dll,-30396"
    "MenuText"="@shell32.dll,-30317"
    "NonLFNFileSpec"="@shell32.dll,-30319"
    
    [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Folder\ShellNew\Config]
    "AllDrives"=""
    "IsFolder"=""
    "NoExtension"=""
    
    
    
    Just for luck, if you save this code as a .reg file it wll remove Adobe Bridge from your folder context menu.
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell\Bridge]
    
    
    
    Hope that helps

    Elmer
     
    #4 Elmer, Aug 31, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
    sweetmailer and (deleted member) like this.
  5. sweetmailer

    sweetmailer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Elmer for your rply.
    I have chekd the registry as you have said. But didn't found a reg key called User Choice in the directory folder.
    You have given a code, i have saved it as a .reg file in dektop. I want to know where i will save it or how.?
     
  6. sweetmailer

    sweetmailer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank u elmer....
    The second code you gave really solved the problem and now all the folders are opening as usual...
    Rocking...
    Thank u so much,Elmer... :) :)
     
  7. Elmer

    Elmer Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,873
    Likes Received:
    284
    Not a problem.

    I've devoted my life to dismembering Adobe Bridge and rendering it useless!

    (It never used to work on my ancient XP set up, so I found alternatives. So now it wants to work on my new PC it can go and get stuffed!!)
     
  8. ayo1

    ayo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello, kindly help out, i have the same issue. Would have followed the steps given above, only this is 6 years after this post, I windows 10 os and adobe cs6. This is the only place i could find that has a clue.
     
  9. Neemobeer

    Neemobeer Windows Forum Team
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    2,412
    Likes Received:
    366
    The keys should be the same even in Windows 10
     
  10. SHODAN2114

    SHODAN2114 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    solved it for me too, thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...