Windows 7 Windows Not Completing Backup

kimberlyann

Windows has stopped completing backups. A few weeks ago, I bought an external HD and began doing regular backups that completed with no problems. Now I get a message that Windows backup did not complete successfully. Message also says that the drive that Windows is installed on needs at least 400 MB of free space. My C-drive shows 138 GB of free space and my external HD shows 162 GB of free space. What is wrong? I am new to backing up. Can anyone help? Thanks.

Glad to hear you've got a regular backup running - can get you out of all sorts of problems. One problem though is that you don't discover the limitations of the Windows integrated backup until you need it. You will find many tales of woe on the net from people who have discovered the hard way. Backing up is such an essential job that I prefer a dedicated proven system and for that reason I use Acronis True Image. It's not free but neither it is expensive and the first time you ever need to run a recovery you'll consider it worth every penny. You can read about it and download a fully working trial from here:

Complete hard disk recovery solution, backup, drive copy, clone and image computer software

Thanks. This helps as I want the backups to be bullet proof reliable. I have experimented with the windows 7 backup system by deleting files and folders and restoring from backup, and found it kind of awkward to use. Not what I expected from Microsoft especially considering the importance of backups. I actually found it simpler to just copy my files to my external HD and flash drives. I have been reading about Easeustodo backup software. I will now look at Acronis. Thanks for you help.