Windows was unable to create a new system partition

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Lee Neufeld, Aug 15, 2012.

  1. Lee Neufeld

    Lee Neufeld New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm doing a fresh install on windows 7, instead of a disk it's on a thumb drive
    I have a 500 GB Partition I want to install windows to

    I went through setup and formatted the disk when I try to continue with the installation and get this error.

    "Windows was unable to setup a new system partition or find an existing one. See installation log"
     
    #1 Lee Neufeld, Aug 15, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
  2. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,878
    Likes Received:
    317
  3. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    Have you tried just adding the partition you want to put the OS on and not pre-formatting it?

    Can you describe how you are setting the drive up?

    If you happen to be using a UEFI install, it requires a system partition. The Legacy (MBR) will just make the OS partition the system partition.
     
  4. Pauli

    Pauli Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    211
    It could also be an issue with BIOS. Be sure to have the settings correct = thumb drive is bootable. Further, you need to have your system disk properly formatted. I had a heck of a fight when installing Windows 7 because it wouldn't recognize partitions > I had to jump to another partition program to get it work.

    Supposedly, Windows formats a disk. Well yeah... supposedly. By experience, and there's not so very much of that in my case, I would recommend to format the system disk with gParted, GParted -- About and then push Windows in. And even in that case, with a formatted disk, you may have to have Windows re-format it.

    It's the ballgame. :cool:
     
    #4 Pauli, Aug 18, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012

Share This Page

Loading...