Wired Connection: No Network Access, Shows no Physical Address

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Runscottie, Oct 25, 2009.

  1. Runscottie

    Runscottie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a HP pavilion dv9917cl laptop. Nvidia Geforce 7150M/630M
    Integrated ethernet adapter, Nforce 630M.

    Updated to Windows 7 32-bit from Vista 32-bit, custom (start from scratch) install.

    Initially my ethernet adapter showed up in Device Manager as Nforce Networking Controller, not working properly with a code 10 error. Windows update provided a chipset download, where I manually picked out and installed the ethernet adapter driver (Browse for driver -> let me manual pick -> Have disk -> )

    So now in Device Manager my ethernet adapter shows up fine, wired LAN connection shows up in Network Connections etc.

    EXCEPT, now no matter what I always get "No Network Access" or "No Internet Access" no matter where I plug in my ethernet cable. Of further interest is this: my IP, DNS, DHCP information all shows up under "details" from the LAN wired connection properties, but My physical address is 00-00-00-00-00-00.

    Wireless is working 100% okay. I need to be able to use wired, however, for a number of reasons.


    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : res-hall.gac.edu
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : NVIDIA nForce Networking Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::551:f8d0:252f:8726%26(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 138.236.215.237(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.248.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 25, 2009 11:41:00 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 25, 2009 12:31:00 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 138.236.208.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 138.236.240.2
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 486539264
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-71-DD-33-00-1E-68-7F-95-98

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 138.236.128.52
    138.236.128.53
    138.236.128.100
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 138.236.128.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : wireless.gac.edu
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007 802.11b/g WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1F-E1-4F-AE-D1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::bd13:e67b:19bb:1ebc%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 138.236.248.118(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 25, 2009 11:27:24 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, October 25, 2009 12:42:25 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 138.236.240.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 138.236.240.2
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218111969
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-71-DD-33-00-1E-68-7F-95-98

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 138.236.128.52
    138.236.128.53
    138.236.128.100
    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 138.236.128.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled


    I nabbed drivers off the HP website, the Vista 32-bit drivers for the nvidia chipset, but there was no change.

    My biggest question: is this a driver problem? or Windows 7?

    Please help!
     
  2. Runscottie

    Runscottie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    *BUMP*

    PLease does anybody know what I can do? Better yet, is anyone at least having similar problems?
     
  3. Acckept

    Acckept New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Similar problem

    I have an HPzd7000 I just purchased used with Windows 7 installed. I am having a similar problem as you Runscotie..
    LAN connection shows up but I also am getting the "No access" msg to TCP/IPv6 & 4

    Im thinking this is a Windows 7 issue... as Im running an internet connection with the same modem on Windows XP (diff laptop) Usually I can just plug in an go!

    Were you able to figure out the problem? I've looked on many forums and was unable to resolve..

    Thanks!!
     
  4. brp

    brp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an HP dv6810us on VISTA and I have the same problem. It has been in the shop for warranty repairs 6 times since July. I get IpV4 Local and IPv6 Local Physical address is all 0"s. Wirelessly it works well. HP has taken remote control of the computer and they say it is a hardware problem as does Microsoft and Comcast but the warranty people "NEW" say that there is no problem. In between visits to the shop I have trouble shot it 6 ways to Sunday. I have completely restored the hard drives begining with format.
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Go to Stat > Run, and type cmd, now type ping goggle.com/

    My average is abbot 45ms. Are you getting a reply?

    Also try the IP to get out:
    Google
     

Share This Page

Loading...