Wireless unidentified network no internet access

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Dgb66, Nov 28, 2011.

  1. Dgb66

    Dgb66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read SOOO many posts about this the past few days over various different websites, and haven't been able to find a fix that worked yet. Finally just asking directly here.

    Here's my ipconfig/all:

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : EMILSCANCER
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : socal.rr.com

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-A3-C4-92-0D-3B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.22.152(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : socal.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : E0-69-95-6F-88-30
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::50dd:aa67:2748:ab5a%11(Preferr
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.8(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, November 28, 2011 8:18:55 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, December 01, 2011 8:18:55
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 242250172
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-45-5D-FC-E0-69-95-6F-

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    10.91.48.46
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.socal.rr.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : socal.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{542CC874-8205-438B-933B-0835D2016F79}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    I realize the wifi is not automatically getting signed an IP Address. I just can't find a way to make it. I already have the IpV4 set to automatically locate.
     
  2. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Hello and welcome to the forum.
    First can you provide some specifics regarding the Manufacturer Name, Model Name, Model Number and Revision Number of the wireless adapter you are using? The driver version and date would help as well.
    Have you tried assigning static values manually to the IPv4 properties of the wireless adapter just to see if that is the only problem you are having
    Give it a try. Click the start orb and type
    ncpa.cpl
    and hit enter
    Select then right click the wireless adapter and choose properties
    Uncheck Internet Protocol Version 6
    Select Internet Protocol Version 4 and click the properties button
    Select the Use the following IP address: (radio button) and enter the following
    IP address 192.168.0.222
    Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0 (should auto-populate)
    Default Gateway 192.168.0.1
    Select the Use the following DNS server addresses: (radio button) and enter the following
    Preferred DNS server: 209.18.49.61
    Alternate DNS server: 209.18.47.62
    Keep us posted.
    Regards
    Randy
     
    #2 Trouble, Nov 28, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 28, 2011
  3. Dgb66

    Dgb66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ralink Technology, Corp. 802.11n Wireless LAN Card
    Driver Version 3.1.10.0
    Driver Date 8/11/2010

    No luck with that fix. I've tried it before. You suggested a new ip address, so I tried again, but still no luck.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    OK, so that didn't help. Return the IPv4 setting back to Auto Auto.
    Is this a pci addon card, a wireless usb dongle, or an integrated card? Can you provide some system specs, I know some HPs came with this card integrated laptops and touchsmarts.
    Have you tried
    Updating the firmware on your wireless router?
    Check the router documentation to see if there are any special buttons to push or other hoops to jump through to add a new network node?
    Changing the channel (try 3 or 9 or 11)?
    Temporarily running the router open (no security) to test?
    Uninstalling from device manager and rebooting?
    Uninstalling any software that may have came with the driver package or wireless router and allowing Windows 7 WLAN AutoConfig to manage the device?
    Making sure that is allowed (supported) by any third party firewalls or security suites you might have installed?
    If you go back to
    ncpa.cpl
    and hit enter
    right click the wireless adapter and choose properties
    then click the Configure button near the right top
    under the advanced tab
    are there any properties in the left column, like mode, frequency, radio on/off that you may be able to adjust, (like changing the mode from auto to B or G or something like that)? While you are in there go ahead and copy and paste this
    68A3C4920D3B
    into the value box of the Network Address property, sometimes that will help, but mostly on wired connections. Still worth a try, that is the 12 digit MAC address of your wireless adapter, unique to you.
     
  5. Dgb66

    Dgb66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Firmware is up to date
    it's a gateway dx4350
    AMD Phenom II X4 840T Processor (4cpu's), ~2.9GHz
    Running Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    Integrated card
    Router is running open. It works for literally every other device except this computer. Including a 2nd computer running the same version of windows.
    The options under advanced are
    Adhoc support 802.11n - enable/disable
    Country Region (2.4GHz) -
    #0 (1-11)
    #1 (1-13)
    #2 (10-11)
    #3 (10-13)
    #4 (14)
    #5 (1-14)
    #6 (3-9)
    #7 (5-13)
    Multimedia/Gaming Environment - Enable/Disable
    Power Saving Mode - CAM (Constantly Awake Mode)/Max_PSP (Max Power Savings)
    Radio On/Off - Enable/Disable
    Bolded What each one is set too.
    I don't see any network address property I can paste anything into.
    Changing the channel of the router didn't work. it's allowed by all securities.
    Anything I haven't mentioned I haven't tried. I will do so as soon as I have time (Just got off work and I have to go register for classes, then get ready for work again.). In the mean time any other suggestions would be awesome.
     
  6. Dgb66

    Dgb66 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry for the double post. Ended up fixing the problem. The wireless network was set to trusted PC's only. The one I was having trouble with was set as trusted and was up and working before I unplugged it so it wouldn't be in use during thanksgiving. I guess after I put it back up the mac address for this computer was entered wrong in the trusted pc's menu. Fixed it and everything is now good.
     
  7. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,845
    Likes Received:
    833
    Glad to hear that you were able to resolve your problem. Thanks for posting back and updating your thread with the solution that worked for you.
    Thanks for joining our community and we hope to continue to see you around the forum.
    Regards
    Randy
     

Share This Page

Loading...