WMP12 Crashing when trying to find album info..

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by HarbingerOfLive, Dec 28, 2010.

  1. HarbingerOfLive

    HarbingerOfLive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Title say all. Everytime I try to find album info for Two Steps From Hell's "Invincible" album WMP12 just crashes!

    Help?
     
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Hi Harbinger,
    could you check with the Event viewer and report back?
     
  3. HarbingerOfLive

    HarbingerOfLive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I am new to Event Viewer. Have actually never used it before. How does it work and what are you looking for in it?

    Also if it helps I did a new install, I just finished updating and installing software like Kapersky 2011 Internet Safety and Steam (plus games Like Amnesia the Dark Descent, Tean Fortress 2, etc...)
     
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Since the re-install are you still getting the same problem?

    The Event viewer can be found via the control panel (see screenshot) and contains listed events such as errors and so on. Please check the Admin events to see if an error is being reported.
     
  5. HarbingerOfLive

    HarbingerOfLive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok in the viewer I found when WMP12 crashed. Here are the details...

    Faulting application name: wmplayer.exe, version: 12.0.7600.16667, time stamp: 0x4c7dc5a1
    Faulting module name: aticfx32.dll, version: 8.17.10.1059, time stamp: 0x4cef2244
    Exception code: 0xc0000005
    Fault offset: 0x0001ea64
    Faulting process id: 0x105c
    Faulting application start time: 0x01cba6e8f710a384
    Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Media Player\wmplayer.exe
    Faulting module path: C:\Windows\system32\aticfx32.dll
    Report Id: 386249d0-12dc-11e0-ad01-0011678ea2f2

    Does this help?
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Yes it does thankyou..

    The most typical causes for the ‘0xc0000005: error are: corrupt registry, malware, faulty RAM, faulty drivers, incorrectly written, installed or updated software and even Windows security features.

    Try running MSE or Microsoft Security Essentials as apposed to Kapersky:

    http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/
     
  7. HarbingerOfLive

    HarbingerOfLive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so I uninstalled Kapersky, I installed Essentials, and I did a scan and still it doesn't work. Also I tried to scan for registry errors on CCleaner and although errors popped up it still didn't work....
     
  8. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
  9. HarbingerOfLive

    HarbingerOfLive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  10. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
  11. HarbingerOfLive

    HarbingerOfLive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    After Completing the first diagnostic I got at the end a messege saying

    Issues Found:
    Configuration Settings might be set incorrectly.

    After doing the second I found


    Issues Found:

    Media Library is corrupted.

    This is of course after selecting "apply fixes"

    I also used the software FixWin and still the same.

    Here is a screenshot

    pp.
    [​IMG]
     
  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    As with any database, information that is stored in the database or the database itself can become corrupted. The Windows Media Player library database can usually recover automatically from database corruption. However, the database may become corrupted in such a way that Windows Media Player cannot recover the database.

    1. Click Start , click Run , type %LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft\Media Player , and then click OK .

    2. Select all the files in the folder , and then click Delete on the File menu.

    Note You do not have to delete the folders that are in this folder.

    3. Restart Windows Media Player.

    Note Windows Media Player automatically rebuilds the database.

    If this does not resolve the problem, clear the Windows Media Player database cache files . To do this, follow these steps:

    # If you are running Windows 7/Vista, click Start , click Run , type %LOCALAPPDATA%\Microsoft , and then click OK.

    # Select the Media Player folder , and then click Delete on the File menu.

    # Restart Windows Media Player .

    Note Windows Media Player automatically rebuilds the database.

    Ref: Media library is corrupted
     
  13. HarbingerOfLive

    HarbingerOfLive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    None worked :/
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Did you say that you had re-installed windows?
     
  15. HarbingerOfLive

    HarbingerOfLive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep I did yesterday. i could do it again........
     
  16. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Sorry for asking but is this a fresh clean install you doing? Oh and is windows fully updated? If this is the case then perhaps your media is the source of the problem.
     
    #16 kemical, Dec 29, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2010

Share This Page

Loading...