Wndows 7 wired not connecting to router

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Knightshade, May 24, 2012.

  1. Knightshade

    Knightshade New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed a fresh copy of win7 pro on a desktop PC.

    I'm trying to assign a static IP address over IPV4 (have disabled IPV6)
    I have gone over settings numerous times and still cant get a ping to my Linksys 3200 router. (destination host unreachable)

    I'm pulling my hair out here trying to figure out whats going on.

    IP address 192.168.1.100
    subnet mask 255.255.255.0

    default gateway 192.168.1.1

    my dns servers are provided from my isp, both preferred and alternate.

    my ip address range on the router are from 192.168.1.100/125
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Sonny>ping 192.168.1.1
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.100: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.100: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.100: Destination host unreachable.
    Reply from 192.168.1.100: Destination host unreachable.
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    (weird just noticed the reply back is coming back from the machine i was pinging from)

    Local internet connectiuon status looks like it's connected and windows network diagnostics doesn't see any problems.
    C:\Users\Sonny>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : pcroom
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8001/8003/8010 PCI Gigab
    it Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-18-F3-3D-97-C6
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.100(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 202.180.64.10
    202.180.64.11
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{F2666F95-E29B-4BEF-A4C0-4564A9B30E1C}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    C:\Users\Sonny>

    The same settings on a XP machine give me

    Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
    (C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ping 192.168.1.1
    Pinging 192.168.1.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Reply from 192.168.1.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
    Ping statistics for 192.168.1.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms
    C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>
     
    #1 Knightshade, May 24, 2012
    Last edited: May 24, 2012
  2. Saltgrass

    Saltgrass Excellent Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    15,157
    Likes Received:
    393
    You show DHCP as being turned off. You have the router set to give a DHCP address of .100, but you already show a .100 for your address. Maybe you should try turning on DHCP or using a static IP address out of the DHCP available range.
     
  3. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,456
    Likes Received:
    268
    You dns server address is showing as the external IP address of the actual dns server. It is better to set the dns server address to the IP address of the router gateway (192.168.1.1) - that way all dns requests will be addressed to the router which will in turn pass it on to whatever is the real external dns server address which your router will have obtained from the ISP by DHCP.

    Just to exclude the possibility of IP address conflicts (the error you are getting can occur when an ARP request to resolve the layer 3 IP address to a layer 2 mac address fails) try turning DHCP on and setting all address settings to automatic.
     

Share This Page

Loading...