Windows 7 World of Warcraft Issues

Discussion in 'Windows Games' started by TehWaffler, Nov 21, 2009.

  1. TehWaffler

    TehWaffler New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't really know where to put this as it is strictly related to my games.
    I'm having a problem with Windows 7 that none of my friends are having.
    When I play WoW my system will go a couple minutes really slowly. WoW will drop to 4 fps and The rest of my programs will go really slowly. Then a couple minutes it will pick up, And it just cycles back and forth. This is a brand new install, so there are no viruses and no spyware. I updated my video drivers as well.
    Not sure if it matters or not but on the Resource Monitor World of Warcraft takes up anywhere from 40 to 95 regardless of it going slow or fast. Nothing else registers above 2 for any period of time.
    I tried running WoW with the -nosound switch and the -openGL switch neither of which worked.

    Here is my DxDiag.

    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 11/21/2009, 01:22:20
    Machine name: SEAMUS
    Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600) (7600.win7_rtm.090713-1255)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: Gateway
    System Model: GM5626
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) Dual CPU E2180 @ 2.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
    Memory: 3072MB RAM
    Available OS Memory: 3070MB RAM
    Page File: 1147MB used, 4990MB available
    Windows Dir: C:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    User DPI Setting: Using System DPI
    System DPI Setting: 96 DPI (100 percent)
    DWM DPI Scaling: Disabled
    DxDiag Version: 6.01.7600.16385 32bit Unicode
    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 8500 GT
    Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Chip type: GeForce 8500 GT
    DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0421&SUBSYS_09601462&REV_A1
    Display Memory: 1520 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 241 MB
    Shared Memory: 1278 MB
    Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor Name: Generic PnP Monitor
    Monitor Model: VX1932wm-3
    Monitor Id: VSCD41F
    Native Mode: 1440 x 900(p) (59.887Hz)
    Output Type: DVI
    Driver Name: nvd3dum.dll,nvwgf2um.dll,nvwgf2um.dll
    Driver File Version: 8.16.0011.9107 (English)
    Driver Version: 8.16.11.9107
    DDI Version: 10
    Driver Model: WDDM 1.1
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 9/27/2009 16:12:22, 7614056 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp:
    Device Identifier: {D7B71E3E-4761-11CF-4154-6B291EC2C535}
    Vendor ID: 0x10DE
    Device ID: 0x0421
    SubSys ID: 0x09601462
    Revision ID: 0x00A1
    Driver Strong Name: oem1.inf:NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTx86.6.1:Section009: 8.16.11.9107:pci\ven_10de&dev_0421
    Rank Of Driver: 00E62001
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C ModeVC1_C ModeWMV9_C
    D3D9 Overlay: Supported
    DXVA-HD: Supported
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
    -------------
    Sound Devices
    -------------
    Description: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7618&SUBSYS_00000100& REV_1002
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 65535
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.01.7600.16385 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 7/13/2009 15:51:47, 304128 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
    Description: Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
    Default Sound Playback: No
    Default Voice Playback: No
    Hardware ID: HDAUDIO\FUNC_01&VEN_8384&DEV_7618&SUBSYS_00000100& REV_1002
    Manufacturer ID: 1
    Product ID: 65535
    Type: WDM
    Driver Name: HdAudio.sys
    Driver Version: 6.01.7600.16385 (English)
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    Date and Size: 7/13/2009 15:51:47, 304128 bytes
    Other Files:
    Driver Provider: Microsoft
    HW Accel Level: Basic
    Cap Flags: 0xF1F
    Min/Max Sample Rate: 100, 200000
    Static/Strm HW Mix Bufs: 1, 0
    Static/Strm HW 3D Bufs: 0, 0
    HW Memory: 0
    Voice Management: No
    EAX(tm) 2.0 Listen/Src: No, No
    I3DL2(tm) Listen/Src: No, No
    Sensaura(tm) ZoomFX(tm): No
     
  2. Leon17848

    Leon17848 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this exact problem any fixes? Spec in my sig I've seen it on wow forums and not 1 fix this is kind of annoying considering its only people with Nvidia cards from what I've seen
     
  3. Talderon

    Talderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just out of curiosity, where is your WoW install at?
     
  4. Randor

    Randor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a similar problem except my warcraft doesnt patch anymore. It was installed in the program files(x86) untill it told me to move it to the folder called Public. I moved it to the other program files folder instead.
     
  5. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    mine patches ok from a different folder as long as I launch the wow file named Launcher with right click "run as administrator" from the folder it's actually in, and if I get a firewall blocked request i allow and restart it ;)
     
  6. Talderon

    Talderon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    4
    Really strange that so many people are having patching issues.

    I have 6 computers in this house that run WoW (yeah, those subscriptions add up), and none of them have issues patching.

    ALL of them except mine have the game installed in the C:\Users\Public\Games\World of Warcraft folder where mine is installed in D:\Games\World of Warcraft (and 2 other installs for multi-boxing).

    Installing them in the Program Files or Program Files (x86) is the root of many issues.

    Just also remember, once you have it installed and patched, you NEVER have to install or patch it again, just back it up to another drive (I use one of my USB drive for this) and be sure to delete the Cache folder that you backup. If you ever have to wipe your machine or need to re-install WoW (even on another computer), just copy it from your backup location to where ever you want it and launch it. No re-install is ever needed. :)
     
  7. ickymay

    ickymay New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,689
    Likes Received:
    113
    yes I only manually instigate the patch as I run my game from a folder in a separate partition so I can't expect the game to know where to point for the files, and then run the game from whichever Operating system I happen to be booted into ;)

    I do the same with steam and all its games and some other programs meaning they are fault tolerant for anything up to a drive failure :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...