1. Microsoft has announced the release of the Windows 10 Technical Preview. Read more...

NAS not working in Windows 7

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Thijs22, Dec 17, 2009.

  1. Thijs22

    Thijs22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Hello,
    I'm unable to acces my Landisk Pro drive.
    "\\STORAGE-3951 is not accessible. You might not have permission to use this network resource. Contact the administrator of this server to find out if yopu have access permissions. The account is not authorized to log in from this station."
    Outher computor in my network is using Win XP and he is doiing fine.
    Do you know a solition for this problem?

    Thijs
     
  2. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,826
    Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Computer Management > Disk Management.

    Right click on the drive that you cannot access and change owner to yourself.
     
  3. rayc325

    rayc325 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Hi, I tried this too but the NAS doesn't show in Disk Management. Using an Argosy NAS with Win& 32 bit.
     
  4. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,331
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    Try this on the Win7 machine
    Click start->click run->type secpol.msc
    Go to: Local Policies > Security Options
    Find "Network Security: LAN Manager authentication level"
    Set it like this "Send LM & NTLM - use NTLMv2 session security if negotiated"
    See attachment
    Hope this helps
    Regards
    Randy
     
  5. rayc325

    rayc325 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Nope, it still doesn't show up
     
  6. Trouble

    Trouble Noob Whisperer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    13,331
    Location:
    N.W. Indiana
    You went to what appeared to be a permissions issue to a "Nope, it still doesn't show up. Is this thing a true NAS, in otherwords is it connected by ethernet cable and does it have an ip address and can you ping it. Or are you for some reason only able to use it's browser interface. How exactly is the other machine (XP Machine) on your network attaching to it (accessing it)? Help me understand please. Is there a firmware upgrade out there for your device that might help?
     

Share This Page