Separating PS5 Storage Reports from PC Specs
Much of the immediate pre-launch buzz stems from a October 16 post by PlayStation Game Size on X, an account known for tracking Sony's PlayStation Network backend database. As reported by Khel Now, Final Weapon, and Notebookcheck, that PlayStation Network listing pegs the Phantom Blade Zero download size at 134.857 GB, with pre-loading for digital pre-orders scheduled to open on October 27, 2026—48 hours ahead of the global release on October 29 at 2:00 AM GMT (02:00 UTC).
For Windows users building out their storage plans on Steam or the Epic Games Store, there is an essential platform boundary to keep in mind:
- PS5-Specific File Size: The 134.857 GB figure applies specifically to the PlayStation 5 version tracked on Sony's servers. Neither S-GAME's official system requirements page nor the game's Steam storefront listing currently specifies an exact gigabyte requirement for Windows PC.
- Pre-load Timing: While PS5 pre-loading is slated for October 27, S-GAME has not yet confirmed whether Steam and Epic Games Store pre-loads will follow the exact same schedule.
- Storefront Date Differences: According to S-GAME's official website and PlayStation listings, the global launch is set for October 29, 2026, at 02:00 UTC (2:00 AM GMT). Steam's storefront displays October 28, 2026, in certain regions—a standard reflection of local time-zone conversion ahead of the 02:00 UTC unlock rather than a separate early release date.
Back in June 2026, S-GAME CEO and creator Soulframe announced in a community letter on Steam that the studio was moving the release date from September 9, 2026, to October 29, 2026. That 50-day delay was dedicated to upgrading character models, reworking environments, and ensuring the game's core visual atmosphere held up even on systems running without ray tracing.
Section Summary: The widely circulated 134.857 GB download size and October 27 preload window originate from PlayStation Network database tracking for the PS5 version. S-GAME has not yet published a specific gigabyte count for the Windows PC install, though PC users should still prepare generous SSD space ahead of the October 29 (02:00 UTC) launch.
Official Windows 10 and Windows 11 System Requirements
While exact PC file sizes remain under wraps, S-GAME published its official Windows hardware specifications on August 12, 2026, and mirrored the baseline tiers on Steam. Unlike bare-bones spec sheets that leave you guessing whether "Recommended" means 1080p at 30 frames per second or 4K at 60, S-GAME's documentation pairs each hardware tier with explicit resolution and frame-rate targets—including two higher-end tiers for ray tracing and path tracing.
| Tier | OS, Processor & Memory | Graphics Card (GPU) | DirectX & Storage | Official Performance Target |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum | Windows 10/11 (64-bit); Intel Core i7-8700K or AMD Ryzen 5 3600; 16 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1660 (6 GB) or AMD Radeon RX 5500 XT (8 GB) | DirectX 12; SSD required | 1080p / 30 FPS (with upscaling enabled) |
| Recommended | Windows 10/11 (64-bit); Intel Core i5-10600K or AMD Ryzen 5 5600X; 16 GB RAM | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3060 Ti (8 GB) or AMD Radeon RX 6700 XT (12 GB) | DirectX 12; SSD required | 1440p / 60 FPS (with upscaling enabled) |
| Ray-Tracing Recommended | Not separately specified by S-GAME | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5060 (8 GB) | See baseline requirements | 1080p / 60 FPS (with upscaling enabled) |
| Path-Tracing Recommended | Not separately specified by S-GAME | NVIDIA GeForce RTX 5080 (16 GB) | See baseline requirements | 2160p (4K) / 60 FPS (with upscaling enabled) |
What the Specs Tell Us About PC Performance
A closer look at S-GAME's official requirements reveals several important technical realities for Windows gamers:
- Upscaling Is Built Into Every Target: Every single resolution and frame-rate tier published by S-GAME—from the GTX 1660 minimum at 1080p/30 FPS all the way to the RTX 5080 path-tracing tier at 4K/60 FPS—carries the explicit caveat "with upscaling enabled." S-GAME's requirements table does not specify which upscaler (such as DLSS, FSR, XeSS, or Unreal Engine 5's built-in TSR) is used for each benchmark, nor does it state the internal render resolution preset. If you prefer native resolution rendering without upscaling, you will need more GPU headroom than the listed cards suggest.
- Reasonable Rasterized Entry Points, Steep Ray-Tracing Jumps: The baseline CPU and GPU requirements are remarkably approachable for an Unreal Engine 5 title. A six-core Core i7-8700K or Ryzen 5 3600 paired with a 6 GB GTX 1660 gets you in the door, while a mid-range RTX 3060 Ti or RX 6700 XT targets 1440p at 60 FPS. That aligns with Soulframe's June 2026 pledge to preserve visual impact without forcing ray tracing. Once you flip on ray tracing or full path tracing, however, S-GAME points directly to NVIDIA's RTX 50-series cards (the RTX 5060 8 GB for 1080p/60 ray tracing and the RTX 5080 16 GB for 4K/60 path tracing). Note that S-GAME's August announcement only listed GPU and resolution targets for those two advanced lighting tiers without detailing separate CPU or RAM increases.
- VRAM and Storage Bottlenecks: At the Recommended 1440p tier, NVIDIA's RTX 3060 Ti brings 8 GB of VRAM while AMD's RX 6700 XT offers 12 GB. Furthermore, an SSD is strictly required across all configurations. In modern Unreal Engine 5 releases, high-speed solid-state storage is essential for streaming geometry and textures without traversal stutter.
- DRM and Storefront Features: According to the official Steam store page, the PC version of Phantom Blade Zero incorporates third-party Denuvo DRM alongside support for Steam Achievements, Steam Cloud saves, and Steam Family Sharing.
Editions and Pricing
On both Steam and the Epic Games Store (as well as PlayStation 5), Phantom Blade Zero is listed at $59.99 for the Standard Edition and $69.99 for the Digital Deluxe Edition. Pre-ordering either edition grants early unlocks for the "Treasure Basin" accessory and the "Legacy" outfit, though S-GAME notes on its official site and Steam page that both items can also be earned through normal in-game progression. The $69.99 Digital Deluxe Edition adds two exclusive outfits ("Wulin Legend" and "Blood-Steel Form"), a digital artbook, and the digital original soundtrack.
Section Summary: S-GAME's Windows 10/11 specs start with a GTX 1660 or RX 5500 XT for 1080p/30 FPS and scale up to an RTX 3060 Ti or RX 6700 XT for 1440p/60 FPS, plus RTX 5060 and RTX 5080 tiers for ray tracing and path tracing. Every published performance target relies on upscaling, 16 GB of RAM, DirectX 12, and mandatory SSD storage.
Practical Pre-Launch Checklist for Windows PC Players
If you plan to jump into Phantom Blade Zero when the servers unlock on October 29, a few quick maintenance steps on Windows 10 or Windows 11 will help avoid day-one headaches:
- Verify Your Windows 64-Bit Build and DirectX 12 Support: Press
Win + R, typedxdiag, and press Enter. Confirm that your operating system is a 64-bit build of Windows 10 or Windows 11 and check the Display tab to ensure DirectX 12 Ultimate or Feature Level 12_0+ is enabled on your primary GPU. - Audit Your NVMe or SATA SSD Free Space: Even though the 134.857 GB figure comes from the PS5 version, Unreal Engine 5 games with high-resolution martial arts motion capture and detailed environments rarely shrink dramatically on PC. Because digital storefronts like Steam download compressed depots and unpack them during installation—and because solid-state drives suffer write-speed penalties when filled near capacity—aim to clear at least 160 GB to 180 GB of space on your target SSD rather than installing to a mechanical hard drive.
- Plan for Upscaling in the Graphics Menu: Unless you are running a flagship GPU well above the RTX 3060 Ti / RX 6700 XT recommended tier, expect to enable upscaling in the game's display settings on first boot to hit 60 FPS, as S-GAME's own benchmarks assume upscaling is active.
Are you planning to run Phantom Blade Zero on a mid-range rasterized setup, or do you have the hardware ready to test its path-tracing mode? Share your rig specs and storage strategies in the WindowsForum community discussions!
References
- Phantom Blade Zero - Pre-load, download size, PC requirements & more - Khel Now Khel Now · 2026-10-17T08:15:00+00:00
- Phantom Blade Zero pre-load date and size leaked, it’s going to be massive! - Notebookcheck News notebookcheck.net
- Préachetez Phantom Blade Zero sur Steam store.steampowered.com