9800gtx 512mb x2 SLI on a Old MB (Artificing)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Hardware' started by wraithmajere, Jan 21, 2009.

  1. wraithmajere

    wraithmajere New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    AMD 64x2 3800+ 64-bit Win7 (Activated) 2gig DDR 400

    I have a old nforce 4 amd/sli Gigabyte K8N-Pro-SLI motherboard... using the latest BIOS that works (F9) dated in 2006... (F10) dated 2008, the board will not post) -- (and of course the latest motherboard drivers are not install, since none are available) and the vista 64bit ones causes blue screens with win7, even installing them w/ vista compatability.

    2 BFG Tech 9800gtx Cards Bought brand new - This past weekend From Fry's Electronics.

    Using a single card (either one) using Win7 Default Driver From Windows Update, works 100% 1600x1200x32 res (no artificing)

    Using SLI (1600x1200x32) LCD Screen 60hz - using the win7 provided drivers using windows update, as soon as SLI is enabled... I get artificing on the screen, red-lines all over the monitor, and the screen bounces up and down -- speratically

    Changing the resolution to "anything" under 1400ish x 900ish the arificing stops, and display is 100% perfect.

    Games and apps still work 100%, but the artificing is very annoying... currently using 1280x960x32 res but would like to go back to 1600x1200x32

    PS.. I have also tried Vista 64bit 181.20 Drivers, and newly posted 64bit 185.20 Drivers, the results are the exact same. "however" -- the least ammount of arificing with windows 7 drivers... a little more artificing with vista 64bit drivers, and I get LOADS of artificing with 185.20 drivers...

    Just a heads up, yea i guess ill have to wait till i can find nfroce 4 amd sli - motherboard/chipset drivers... or a new vid driver release... for win7
     
  2. TrippyZippy

    TrippyZippy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    hi

    Windows 7 doesn't have an SLI enabled driver yet I don't think. 185.20 is a hacker created driver and I'm sure your artifacts are because of that. I would use the latest Vista driver and if you want try to use the latest Win7 driver 179.23.
     
  3. chirs

    chirs New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Theres no point installing that second graphics card anyway, you wont see anymore frames per second in games. You need a new cpu if you want to see an improvement,
    other solutions
    give one to me,
    give them both to me,
    or just buy a cheap sli mother board processor and ram set of ebay
     
  4. Bladeripper

    Bladeripper New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm thats odd i had a similar prob got my OC fully stable under xp for my first card and made a very stable oc on my second gtx 280 but fired up crysis one day and got artifacts galore
     

Share This Page

Loading...