Windows 7 Batch File: works under cmd-Windows , NOT under MS-DOS

Discussion in 'Programming and Scripting' started by Eawedat, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. Eawedat

    Eawedat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made these codes to backup files :

    Code:
    set p=C:\Users\
    for/f %%a in('dir C:\Users\ /b') do (
    if not"%%a"=="Public", (
    set fileDest=C:\Backup-%%a_%date:~7,2%.%date:~4,2%.%date:~10,4%
    If Not Exist"%fileDest%" mkdir "%fileDest%"set"fullPath=%p%%%a%"
    xcopy "%fullPath%"%fileDest%/e /h /y /k
    rem call blah.bat
     )
    )
    

    When I test it under cmd of Windows 7 , it works great!!

    When I try it under MS-DOS(VirtualBOX) it does not

    It gives me these errors :

    [​IMG]

    Version of MS-DOS used under VirtualBox is 6.22

    any suggestion ?
     
    #1 Eawedat, Jul 25, 2014
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2014
  2. Josephur

    Josephur Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    125
    I don't think 6.22's IF and FOR are as robust..
     
  3. 551280jjj

    551280jjj Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    CMD is in no way the same as DOS.... CMD allows the use of system tools as DOS is the system, and unable to perform complex functions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...