Cannot join Windows Server 2003 SBS Domain

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by norova, Jan 14, 2009.

  1. norova

    norova New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello. I am trying to join this Windows 7 machine to a domain run on a Windows Server 2003 SBS install. There are several other computers running Vista, XP and various distributions of Linux which have no problems whatsoever, so I know the issue must lie with Windows 7 itself. I am running the x64 edtion of build 7000.

    Every time I head to http://server/connectcomputer and run through the wizard, after filling out all of the info and completing the steps and then clicking finish, I get an error that reads "An error occurred when configuring network settings. See your network administrator."

    There are two network adapters on the computer (it is a laptop); the built-in wireless, and the built-in ethernet. I have tried this using both adapters, with the other adapter disabled; still no luck.

    I'm not sure where to start on fixing this. Any help is much appreciated!

    SBSNetSetup.log
    NetSetup.LOG
     
  2. sean_nwfs

    sean_nwfs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the exact same issues. I'm not sure what to do with this issue.
     
  3. chesh

    chesh New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a hot fix that address this issue...search the networking forum for domain and the topic with 6-7 replies has the link to the hotfix
     
  4. norova

    norova New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, this is a separate issue. The one you are referring to has to do with an "invalid parameters" error, this is something completely different.
     
  5. sean_nwfs

    sean_nwfs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, the hot fix didn't fix the problem...
     
  6. hconant

    hconant New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you already done the usual stuff

    Have you done all the usual join network stuff, especially change the name of the workstation, TWICE. I have seen this problem. Even if you think the computer name is correct, rename it to anything else, then name it back to the computer name you have set up on the domain server. Then try rerunning connectcomputer. Also, shut off the firewall on the workstation while you are trying to use connect computer. You can also join it manually using the TCP/IP settings. It looks from the log like it is not liking the user credentials. Make sure the user you are using to log on is setup in the Domain controller, and to reiterate, that the computer is setup on the Domain controller.
     
  7. norova

    norova New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I have changed the computer name several time and tried various names, none work.

    I have tried it with the firewall completely disabled and all anti-virus/firewall software removed from the machine.

    I am also 100% positive that the credentials are correct. I am attempting to join it with our default domain administrator account. Additionally, the machine is most definitely set up in AD. I have run the new computer wizard every time I try to connect it.
     
  8. hconant

    hconant New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Manual setup

    Was the computer connected before the W7 upgrade? Have you tried to manually set up and join without using connectcomputer? Do you agree the the report looks like an authentication issue.? I'm going out, but I'll check in with you tomorrow if you want. Check out my post about W7 network printer sharing problem if you have a minute.
     
  9. norova

    norova New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    The computer was connected to the domain in question with both Windows XP Pro and Windows Vista Business prior to me installing W7 on it.

    From the looks of SBSNetSetup.log, the line "OpenXMLFile() - DOMDocument::load( C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Windows Small Business Server\Clients\usermap.txt ) failed - [1]" is the first failure I see.

    In the second log, the first failure I see is "01/14/2009 17:05:09:992 Failed to validate machine account for HORNET against alphaserv.AmericanPCSolutions.local: 0xc000006d" which I can't really make any conclusions from.
     
  10. zayasdr

    zayasdr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure if this is the same issue or not, but I had a problem getting build 7100 to join on SBS2003. The computer would show up in AD, but I would get the error "The security database on the server does not have a computer account for this workstation trust relationship", when trying to logon. I tried the nomal remove from domain, delete from AD, add to domain and that did not work. Below is what worked for me.

    On your Domain Controller:


    A) Start > Run > ADSIEDIT.MSC

    B) Go to Domain Partition and mark the affected computer
    C) Rightclick and Properties.
    D) Doubleclick ServicePrincipalName

    E) Add new value: HOST/yourcomputername.yourdomain.xyz or whatever HOST is missing.
     

Share This Page

Loading...