From WIndows Pre-Beta 6801 to Beta release Upgrade.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by thej, Jan 6, 2009.

  1. thej

    thej New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really dont knw,..

    but could someone throw light whether the OS which i run is windows 7 build 6801.. could be upgraded directly to windows 7 the beta release...
     
  2. Venoms

    Venoms New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes you may, but I got error code 80070241 but could solve the problem like this:
    From within 6801
    Make a new folder like C:\W7, or something you like.

    Open command line window in your dvd rom drive.
    In the command line, for copy all files, launch first:
    xcopy /E /T *.* c:\W7
    and after:
    xcopy /E /H *.* c:\W7

    Open a second command line window in folder C:\W7

    for last launch the command:
    ATTRIB -R C:W7\*.* /S

    Now, close command line panels... and run setup.exe form c:\W7\sources

    That's it :razz:
     
  3. thej

    thej New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    more clarification..

    i am not sure clear.. command line means.. in Dos.. and do i need to download beta release and make this changes..
     
  4. Venoms

    Venoms New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    2
    You do need a copy of Windows 7 beta release.
    And you only use the command line utility in Windows... (cmd.exe)
    This way I described copy all files i a correct way to your harddrive, and you do the upgrade from there.

    But this is not a way to do the installation, if I can recommend something... It takes a very long time to upgrade the system from 6801 to beta and not every program works. I think it will be better i you make a backup of all the files you need with Windows 7 backup system and then do a fresh install of the system.

    It took me 25 minutes do do a full system install from the files on the harddrive, and 3,5 hour to do the upgrade and still needed to reinstall most of the software.
    So, do a fresh install and then you have the backuped files... p.o.c :razz:

    Hope you can understand what I meen because english is not my native language.
     
  5. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108

    Is there any particular reason why you would want to upgrade rather then do a clean install? Clean install is a much better idea in general but especially when going from a pre-beta to a beta release.. ;) Not to mention clean installs of Windows 7 take about 20 mins on a fairly modern system.. upgrades take about 30-40 mins...
     
  6. iroken22

    iroken22 Extraordinary Member
    Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    49
    The upgrade worked on one of my computers without the need for the command prompt commands provided. I did it just to see what would happen and it worked perfectly.
     
  7. thej

    thej New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok.. dudes..
    then m going for.. a clean install...
     

Share This Page

Loading...