Windows 7 Hey quick question about upgrading windows 7 on my laptop

MavericX

is it worth it to upgrade my laptop from xp to windows 7? I have a HP dv9640us and here are the stats:

System Manufacturer: Hewlett-Packard
System Model: HP Pavilion dv9500 Notebook PC
BIOS: Ver 1.00PARTTBL
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5250 @ 1.50GHz (2 CPUs)
Memory: 2046MB RAM

Display Devices
---------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GS
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce 8600M GS
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Display Memory: 512.0 MB

Is it worth updating to 7 or would my laptop run too slow on it and I'm better off with xp? I would also like to know that any of the games or programs I run on my laptop also be affected be the update. I'm a college student I like to be able to be diverse and blow steam off by playing games but at the same time have a machine worthy of running some of the recent games adequately and still be able to do all my homework with Microsoft office. Any info you can give me at all would be much appreciated.

Solution
Upgrading your HP dv9640us laptop from Windows XP to Windows 7 can bring several advantages, but it also depends on your specific needs and how you intend to use the laptop. Here's a breakdown of the considerations based on the specifications you provided:

Performance:​

• Processor: The Intel Core 2 Duo T5250 can handle Windows 7 reasonably well, but it might not provide the best performance compared to newer processors. It should be adequate for light to moderate tasks.
  • Memory: With 2GB of RAM, your laptop meets the minimum requirements for Windows 7. However, for better performance, consider upgrading to at least 4GB of RAM if possible.

Compatibility:​

• Graphics Card: The NVIDIA GeForce...