Map Network Drive

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by BoarderX47, Nov 2, 2009.

  1. BoarderX47

    BoarderX47 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all. I am running Windows 7 Professional and I am trying to connect to a school server by mapping the network drive. The server requires a separate user-name and password. When I try to enter those into the screen I am prompted with it says "The network password is not correct" I know for a fact it is and I also know I have access to this server because I was on it the other day while I was still running vista. If anyone could enlighten me on this I would appreciate it.

    Thanks
     
  2. Shadowydreamer

    Shadowydreamer New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in a similar boat if anyone has the answer on how to ditch the domain. :)

    -Shady.
    (Or at least, I think that's what I need to do?)
     
  3. climbTeach

    climbTeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    delete domain in user name

    Same Problem.

    I have e.g. user user1
    I am in WORKGROUP dom1
    Windows 7 creates dom1/user1 to map a network drive. How can I get rid of the dom1???
    I wonder anyway why Win7 creates dom1/user1 since I am NOT in a domain but only Workgroup?

    Any help is VERY welcome!
     
  4. climbTeach

    climbTeach New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    net use is NOT a solution for me

    I can map the network drive with
    net use Z: servername /u:username passwd
    Here WIn7 accepts username WITHOUT domain.
    BUT I still have the problem, because I use a remote installation script (from my organisation) which wants to connect to a network share - for this connection the graphical screen pops up and I have the old problem: the domain is INCLUDED in the user.....
     
  5. mib35k

    mib35k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Map network drive on Windows 7

    Hello Friends,

    I was having same problem and I found following solution which works with me, please check and tell me if it is OK for you or not.

    Solution:

    Please try the following steps ... this will change the way Windows Vista
    authenticates with other computers to the same setting that Windows XP uses.

    *** These steps change default security settings of Windows Vista.
    *** The result: your machine will be less secure by changing these settings.

    - Click Start
    - Click Control Panel
    - Click System and Maintenance
    - Click Administrative Tools
    - Double-Click Local Security Policy
    - In the left pane, click the triangle next to Local Policy
    - In the left pane, click Security Options
    - In the right pane near the bottom, double-click "Network security: LAN
    manager authentication level"
    - Click the drop-down box, and click "Send LM & NTLM responses"
    - Click OK

    Hope it works.
    Thanks, Regards
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. bookmaestro

    bookmaestro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same problem, but I have Windows 7 home and can not find the "security policy" option. Any suggestions?

    Thanks!
     
  7. mib35k

    mib35k New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello,

    You can find security policy in Administration Tools as per attached screen shot.

    Hope it is clear now.

    Regards
    Ossama

    [​IMG]
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. hoopz111

    hoopz111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    It worked!! Thank you so much.
     
  9. hskrsrule

    hskrsrule New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where is the screen shot, all I see is a bunch of rubbish

     
  10. IngridWood

    IngridWood New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had same problem...

    I searched for 'network security' in the Control Panel, and it popped up the Credential Manager, which is where I could edit and remove the domain from the login.

    Control Panel | User Accounts and Family Safety | Credential Manager.

    good luck,
    Ingrid
     

Share This Page

Loading...