ntfs.sys BSODing Randomly

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by AGuyInNeed, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i had yesterday downloaded Starcraft 2 which was a fake version just to try out the campaign, the result was with 2 blue screens, then downloaded starter version, and it went fine however i ran on a overclocked Intel HD 4000 but it still did blue screen after it went on normal (2nd BSOD), so those 2 errors showing ntoskrnl.exe is probably solved but i'm dropping them here, today when i was playing league of Legends the error from ntfs.sys appeared, and i have no idea why :/

    Dumps : (Attachments)

    PC specs :

    Asus Z77 V-Pro
    Corsair GS 800W
    3770k
    Intel HD 4000
    16GB LP Ram at 1600Mhz Vengeance
    Samsung SSD 830 128GB
    And a old hard drive Sata 1 160GB at 7200rpm

    Running windows 7 ultimate x64

    Note : This PC is just 1week or so old.

    It has run fine for 3days, and then this appeared, yesterday when i downloaded a safe file, and today but not by any of the files i did download. (I was just playing LoL)

    I have microsoft security essentials and it didn't detect anything.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had another error with Memory_Management, attachment here, please help asap =(
     

    Attached Files:

  3. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Remove all illegal software
    Stop overclocking to see if that stops the BSOD's. DO NOT overclock until the system is stable - our troubleshooting relies on stock system settings.
    Update firmware on the SSD.
    Get the latest storage controller drivers for your motherboard from the storage controller manufacturer (not from Asus) - most likely Intel and either JMicron or Marvell. DO NOT use the Marvell controller with your SSD - we've seen issues with them.

    Start with these free diagnostics: Hardware Diagnostics
     
    #3 usasma, Aug 18, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2012
  4. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see, except the last part with JMicron or Intel, the thing about my SSD is that it gets shipped with latest firmware Samsung 830 128GB, About JMicron or Intel or Marvel i dunno, Specs say it's a 3-core samsung unit or something not Marvell.
     
  5. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    What exactly should i download? Hwmonitor? :S, lotsa programs on that link
     
  6. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Start at this sentence:
    And follow the instructions line-by-line until you reach the end.

    I was unable to find a Asus Z77 V-Pro motherboard listed at the Asus website.
    The Asus P8Z77 boards have Intel and ASMedia controllers.
    Read the manual to see which your drives are connected to.
    But update both (I prefer using the Intel myself) to the latest version:
    - The Intel from http://downloadcenter.intel.com
    - The ASMedia from ASMedia Technology Inc. ???? (but you have to create and account - and I haven't tried that) - or update it from Asus' support website for your mobo.

    As for the SSD shipping with the latest firmware - I have to wonder as these things spend a couple of months or more being shipped around the world and placed in different warehouses. I do know that motherboards spend long enough on the warehouse shelves that the CMOS batteries can go dead.
     
  7. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is the error, Memory related...i guess, gonna run windows with 1 stick, the drivers are not the problem as what i can see, does this error give any driver related problems?
     
  8. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    The majority of BSOD's are memory related - as those are the operations that can cause physical damage to the system (and so Windows "fails fast" in order to save the hardware)

    Have you removed all illegal software?
    Have you stopped overclocking (if you were overclocking)
    Have you run the hardware diagnostics that I suggested? If so, what were the results?
    Have you updated the storage controller drivers as I suggested?

    If you search the stuff that you posted in the previous post, the things before the ! are drivers. They are:
    nt - nt.dll
    Ntfs - Ntfs.sys
    fltmgr - fltmgr.sys

    The error name - IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL - refers to an operation (by a driver) in virtual memory. It's the operation that was bad - not necessarily the memory. Your virtual memory is stored both in your RAM and in the pagefile on your hard drive - hence the request for you to run hardware diagnostics on your RAM and hard drive. And the involvement of ntfs.sys and fltmgr.sys is suggestive of a problem that occurred with the virtual memory that's associated with your pagefile on your hard drive.

    But memory errors can be (and are most often) errors by 3rd party drivers - and we frequently see these in associate with SSD's. The issue with SSD's is that they are new technology, so all the bugs haven't been worked out yet - hence the request to update the firmware. We frequently see memory issues with systems having SSD problems.

    And, the SSD's are operated by the storage controller drivers - which aren't the latest technology available. The storage controller manufacturer's are working to upgrade their products and have, in the last 6 months, released updates that help with the management of SSD's. Your storage controller drivers date from 2011 - so they are highly suspect in this situation.

    If you're still getting BSOD's once you've done all the stuff that I've suggested - then please run Driver Verifier according to these instructions: Driver Verifier Settings Running it earlier won't help as it's likely to pickup on the things that I've asked you to do.

    Analysis:
    The following is for information purposes only.
    Code:
    [font=lucida console]**************************Fri Aug 17 18:28:42.817 2012 (UTC - 4:00)**************************
    Loading Dump File [C:\Users\John\_jcgriff2_\dbug\__Kernel__\081812-7940-01.dmp]
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
    Windows 7 Kernel Version [B]7601 [/B](Service Pack 1) MP (8 procs) Free x64
    Built by: [B]7601[/B].17835.amd64fre.win7sp1_gdr.120503-2030
    System Uptime:[B]0 days 3:49:49.598[/B]
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for ntoskrnl.exe
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for ntoskrnl.exe
    BugCheck Code: [B]BugCheck 1A, {403, fffff680001f4b70, 9a300000007b486f, fffff686001f4b70}[/B]
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for mssmbios.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for mssmbios.sys
    Probably caused by :[B]ntoskrnl.exe ( nt+7f1c0 )[/B]
    BugCheck Info: [B]MEMORY_MANAGEMENT (1a)[/B]
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0x1a_403
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  WIN7_DRIVER_FAULT
    ¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨¨``
    [/font]


    3rd Party Drivers:
    The following is for information purposes only. Any drivers in red should be updated.
    Code:
    [font=lucida console]**************************Fri Aug 17 18:28:42.817 2012 (UTC - 4:00)**************************
    intelppm.sys   Mon Jul 13 19:19:25 2009 (4A5BC0FD)
    amdxata.sys    Fri Mar 19 12:18:18 2010 (4BA3A3CA)
    ICCWDT.sys     Wed Aug 18 04:27:45 2010 (4C6B9981)
    asmtxhci.sys   Wed Nov  2 23:00:22 2011 (4EB203C6)
    asmthub3.sys   Wed Nov  2 23:00:32 2011 (4EB203D0)
    HECIx64.sys    Wed Nov  9 19:52:25 2011 (4EBB2049)
    iaStor.sys     Tue Nov 29 22:39:19 2011 (4ED5A567)
    IntcDAud.sys   Tue Dec  6 06:23:07 2011 (4EDDFB1B)
    asahci64.sys   Thu Jan  5 00:08:19 2012 (4F053043)
    iusb3hub.sys   Thu Jan  5 06:54:43 2012 (4F058F83)
    iusb3xhc.sys   Thu Jan  5 06:54:45 2012 (4F058F85)
    iusb3hcs.sys   Thu Jan  5 06:56:40 2012 (4F058FF8)
    RTKVHD64.sys   Tue Feb 14 05:55:35 2012 (4F3A3DA7)
    MpFilter.sys   Fri Mar  9 06:05:26 2012 (4F59E3F6)
    e1c62x64.sys   Thu Mar 15 23:57:28 2012 (4F62BA28)
    igdkmd64.sys   Mon May 21 15:04:11 2012 (4FBA91AB)
    [/font]
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=intelppm.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=amdxata.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=ICCWDT.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=asmtxhci.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=asmthub3.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=HECIx64.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=iaStor.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=IntcDAud.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=asahci64.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=iusb3hub.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=iusb3xhc.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=iusb3hcs.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=RTKVHD64.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=MpFilter.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=e1c62x64.sys
    http://www.carrona.org/drivers/driver.php?id=igdkmd64.sys

     
  9. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ran yesterday with 1 stick, no BSOD, then 2sticks now and still no BSOD, probably 1 stick is damaged and i need to RMA, or can BSOD happen because i have too much RAM or the system won't handle it or related? or Voltage...etc?
     
  10. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    It can happen either because one or more of the sticks are bad - or because one or more of the slots are bad.
    It's most likely a bad stick - but it can be a bad motherboard.
    The test for this is from Step 6 onward at this link: Memory Diagnostics

    Too much RAM? I suspect so - but it'd have to be outside of the specs of your motherboard, and you have a fairly new mobo that's likely to be able to use a lot of RAM. Check the mobo manual (or go to RAM Memory Upgrade: Dell, Mac, Apple, HP, Compaq. USB drives, SSD at Crucial.com and use their memory configurator)

    Settings being wrong - yes that could cause problems. I'd suspect small differences in voltage, timing, etc wouldn't cause it tho' - you'd have to be way off (and out of spec of the RAM) in order for it to cause those sort of problems. Overclocking can also cause this - it's the most common reason IMO.
     
  11. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess it's bad Stick/DIMM, i'm on my 3rd stick now, ran it 5hours without a BSOD, usually it crashes within max 3 missions on SC2, already mailed my manufacterer, I guess the last stick is damaged, since everything else is eliminated.

    On BIOS everything is set on default except the XMP profile to run at 1600Mhz, voltages etc are all auto but i've heard it's better to set manual voltages especially if your overclocking, gonna test the last RAM stick tomorrow, but thanks.

    The mobo is this ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS P8Z77-V PRO
    It's a quite expensive board for a ATX i could gone ASRock or some cheap variant but i trusted ASUS, guess i shouldn't :/, cost me 185Euro and was recommended, the Deluxe version just offered bluetooth which i didn't need, accordingly to ASUS it should support up to 4sticks of RAM or 32GB max, 8Gb sticks ea :S

    I guess there are no more options then Bad Motherboard/RAM stick, better test the last stick tomorrow.
     
  12. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    I'm a fan of Asus mobo's and have used them in every build except one over the last 15 years.
    There are some boards with glitches - but I don't recall your board being one of them. (The P5 and P4 series have memory issues which can be "fixed" by manually setting timings/settings/voltages in the BIOS - using the RAM manufacturer's recommendations).

    As for "bad" motherboard, I was referring to a broken slot. This usually happens when pressing or wiggling the RAM sticks too vigorously - causing the solder joints to break.
     
  13. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's a bad Mobo will it even startup with 1RAM or run a whole day? as far i've run all sticks, no crash, but still does crash when all 4 sticks are plugged in after...3hours?
    They won't crash when they are alone, but crashes when all 4 are input, what kind of problem can cause this? :S
     
    #13 AGuyInNeed, Aug 20, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012
  14. RingAnimated

    RingAnimated Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bad MoBo's are usual to die slowly, as i had one die about a million bsod's later and right before death a bunch of freezes. So it would likely run a whole day until a while later. I use an MSI MoBo which is great except the BIOS is a little stupid (not many memory options). New, Bad RAM is also turning into a mass problem as i have now had 2 sets of KomputerBay ram both showing problematic. If you installed the RAM by yourself make sure you weren't on a carpet, that can cause massive RAM problems, though most likely if you discharged it it wouldn't work at all.

    (if you ever get a BIOS error saying something about DRAM, it's possibly fried. as a BIOSTAR i had died from DRAM_FAILED_TO_START_UP, this had AMIBIOS)
     
    #14 RingAnimated, Aug 21, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2012
  15. usasma

    usasma Fantastic Member
    Microsoft Community Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3,048
    Likes Received:
    83
    Problems with all RAM slots populated are (IME) usually due either to incompatibility of the RAM or to BIOS issues in the mobo.
    See if there are any BIOS updates available for your mobo.
    Have you checked the Asus QVL (Qualified Vendor List) for your mobo to see if your RAM is on the list? The last that I saw the QVL was in amongst all the driver/software downloads for the mobo's

    Systems can work with broken slots, or they may have problems. The detail involved in figuring which is which is well beyond my skills (and probably requires someone with knowledge of how your particular mobo was designed). If all slots test good with a single stick - then it's not likely that there is a bad slot.
     
  16. AGuyInNeed

    AGuyInNeed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page

Loading...