Windows 7 problem with ie8 in windows 7

VulturEMaN

Just installed windows 7 yesterday....have had no driver or system problems, except with launching IE8.

As soon as I click the IE icon, I get the following:

instruction at 0x76a009d8 referenced memory at 0x0000047f

29f8ck2.jpg

IE8 still works fully (as far as I can tell), but this error is annoying as hell.

From what I can see, the memory location its trying to look at might be reserved for computer hardware, but i'm a novice with problems like this...

Running 6956 on an a8n-sli deluxe, amd 3500+. 1gb ram, 8600GTS

Last edited:
have you tried to launch IE from the program files folder? (original location)

also....has it ever worked? ...before you done somthing?

& at the least... 6956 is a previous build... it has no support....no activation...so you'll be reinstalling..what? 7000? or so....here pretty soon...

I've never had trouble with IE like that!

I've been using Windows 7 since Build 6801 and never had any problems like that with IE8... however on Dec 12 there were several reports surfacing regarding a rather large security hole that is affecting all versions of IE... that could have something to do with it... ;) I'm not 100% sure if a fix is available yet but if not I'm sure there will be soon enough.. in the meantime it looks like we're back to the same old story with IE....

I've been using Windows 7 since Build 6801 and never had any problems like that with IE8... however on Dec 12 there were several reports surfacing regarding a rather large security hole that is affecting all versions of IE... that could have something to do with it... ;) I'm not 100% sure if a fix is available yet but if not I'm sure there will be soon enough.. in the meantime it looks like we're back to the same old story with IE....

There was a "out-of-band" security update (KB960714) for Internet Explorer released on December 17. See:

Download details: Security Update for Internet Explorer 7 for Windows XP (KB960714)