Upgrade from Vista 32bit > Win 7 32 Bit; Blank Screens

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by Argon023, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. Argon023

    Argon023 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good afternoon,

    I'm attempting to upgrade from 32 Bit Vista to Win 7 32 Bit, however during the final stage of the upgrade process my Monitor turns black, and goes into power save mode.

    The monitor (LG Flatron HD) is connected to the PC through an HDMI cable, connected to 2 HD 4800 ATI graphics cards in CrossFire.

    Before starting the upgrade process I downloaded and installed latest video drivers for the graphics cards. From reading the threads all I can think to do is to go out and by some D-Sub connectors and see if it works, compared to the HDMI.

    Any other recommendations?
     
  2. Argon023

    Argon023 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Drew,

    Got back and attempted the D-Subs(Also called VGA I guess?) and no go.

    I have an upgrade disk that was order using one of the upgrade coupons.

    I may be better off trying to fresh install... but I'm very worried. If it gives me the same problem I'm pretty much screwed. I'll try the one video card thing I suppose.
     
  3. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I agree with Drew on the "clean" install.

    Upgrading causes conflicts, which is what is occurring with your system.

    Be aware, you'll need to re-install all your 3rd party applications.
     
  4. cybercore

    cybercore New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    15,823
    Likes Received:
    321
    I agree with the rest of you and suggest:

     
  5. Argon023

    Argon023 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    After some more experimentation (trying to workaround the 'clean' install until I get an external hard drive)...

    I was able to check into the bios and noticed that my motherboard has an integrated video card, I switched the video controller to that and disabled the two CrossFired cards... And the display didn't shut off at any time during the installation.

    However, I still got an error and wasn't able to upgrade.

    So, in conclusion: Clean install seems to be the only way.

    Thank you very much for your help, everyone. I appreciate it!
     

Share This Page

Loading...