Insider Preview Vbox guest not working in 9926

Discussion in 'Windows 10 Help and Support' started by helpifIcan, Jan 27, 2015.

  1. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    I can not use native resolution due to Vbox guest additions errors.
    Is it just me or does anyone else running VBox have this problem?
    Does not cause any problems other than the screen size, so far.

    https://imageshack.com/i/idtebRuZj

    Just checked the VBox forum looks like the latest win10 build breaks the VBox guest additions.
     
    #1 helpifIcan, Jan 27, 2015
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2015
  2. Joe S

    Joe S Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Likes Received:
    113
    You might do better with VMware Player it's free. I always found Virtualbox a pain with trying to network and share.
    Joe
     
  3. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Many years ago I used VMW just got used to VBox later on.
    I keep Ubuntu, XP, Win10 and Vista as VMs to help out friends & family when they get in trouble.
    I personally found both of them to be good.
    Thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Essential Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    4,884
    Likes Received:
    318
    Have you tried Hyper-V that's native to windows (Pro versions)?
     
  5. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Only got home thanks, I'm sure that Vbox will fix it once they track down the problem.
    Like I said not a show stopper just annoying.
     
  6. helpifIcan

    helpifIcan Extraordinary Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    23
    Just an FYI for anyone running under VBox there is a fix for the resolution issue with the new build on the VBox forum.
    I involves using VBoxManage to create a custom resolution. In my case I needed 1920X1080.
     

Share This Page

Loading...