Internet Explorer 8 - New Tab (Connecting...)

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by jeradw, Oct 5, 2009.

  1. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Hello all!

    I am seeing this strange behavior on a couple of our computers. All of the installs are with Windows 7 Enterprise and they have been "clean" installed.

    I can try to open up a link via a new tab using the middle mouse button, or the right-click menu, but tabs just sits at "Connecting..."

    Things I have tried:

    1. Tools|Internet Options|Advanced|Reset
    2. Open up CMD and run "regsvr32 actxprxy.dll" and reboot
    3. Remove Internet Explorer 8 from Programs and Features; Add it back in
    4. Open up IE8 without Addons

    Nothing has seemed to fix this issue. Anyone else having this problem? FireFox seems to be just fine - I can open up new tabs without a hitch.

    Any ideas?
  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    23,727
    Location:
    LV-426
    Hi jeradw,

    have you tried changing the settings you can see in the screenshot? If that's no use, have you run any virus/malware scans lately?
  3. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    If I change the setting to "Your first home page" and open a new tab with CTRL+T, the homepage works just fine. However the problem persists when I try to open a link in a new tab...then it just sits there.

    I have run malware/spyware scans, yes.
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    23,727
    Location:
    LV-426
    After doing some googling it appears this problem is quite common. This solution might be worth a try...

    How to Fix ‘Open in New Tab/Window’ problem in IE8 ?

    For quickness I've copied and pasted below..

    To resolve this issue, re-register the DLL files that are related to Internet Explorer. To do this, follow these steps:
    1. Click Start, and then click Run
    2. Type regsvr32 urlmon.dll in the Open box, and then click OK.
    3. Click OK when you receive the following message:
    • DllRegisterServer in urlmon.dll succeeded
    4. Repeat steps 1 through 3 for the rest of the DLL files by replacing the regsvr32 urlmon.dll command in the Open box with the following commands:
    • regsvr32 actxprxy.dll
    • regsvr32 shdocvw.dll
    • regsvr32 mshtml.dll
    • regsvr32 browseui.dll
    • regsvr32 jscript.dll
    • regsvr32 vbscript.dll
    • regsvr32 oleaut32.dll
    Now your IE8 Open in New Window/Tab feature, should work simply fine.
  5. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Hmmm...I tried the fix. There were a couple of dlls that returned errors.

    The module "shdocvw.dll" was loaded by the entry-point DllRegisterServer was not found.
    The module "mshtml.dll" was loaded by the entry-point DllRegisterServer was not found.
    The module "browseui.dll" was loaded by the entry-point DllRegisterServer was not found.

    I restarted my computer, but the Connecting... bug seems to remain. :(
  6. domiflichi

    domiflichi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Hi,

    Did you ever get this resolved? I'm having pretty much the exact same problem.
  7. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    I ended up rebuilding my machine, but a coworker is having this problem now as well - so we may look into this more. I will let you know if we find a solution.
  8. domiflichi

    domiflichi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Ok, thanks.
  9. domiflichi

    domiflichi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Well it's working now!

    I got desperate and decided to try running the .bat file on this website:
    [​IMG]http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/InternetExplorer/thread/e312e580-1cbc-496b-8c6b-b69b8535a7bb
    And it worked! I can't believe it.
  10. jeradw

    jeradw Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2009
    Messages:
    474
    Wonderful! We have a PC with this problem again. I am going to test said batch file on it...I will report back!
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2010
  11. derick

    derick New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I believe you`ve already solved this. So just for the record....the same happened to me today - after I changed few settings in IE8.
    The default installation was ok, the issue occured after I made the changes.
    My resolution was - running IE8 again as administrator. That actually did it.

Share This Page