Unidentified network - no internet access

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Networking' started by Allycat, Apr 19, 2011.

  1. Allycat

    Allycat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    My pc is connected a router with an ethernet cable. The router was reset and now the pc cannot connect to the internet. The message I get is

    unidentified network - access type: No Internet access
    work network - connections: local area connections

    we have rebooted, turned computer off then on, reset back to a previous time, changed the ethernet cable

    Now what???
     
  2. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire, England
    If you have reset the router then it should be automatically trying to assign IP address and DNS address but this depends on whether you have set your pc to have them assigned automatically. Go to Control Panel, Network and sharing, change adapter settings, right click on local area connection and select properties. Left click on Internet protocol version 4 and click on properties. Select the two options to obtain an IP address automatically, and also to get a DNS server address automatically
     
  3. Allycat

    Allycat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Hello,
    followed your steps and it was already set to obtain addresses automatically.

    After troubleshooting the problems found say..

    "Local area Connection" doesn't have a valid IP configuration Not Fixed with a red x

    What does this mean?
     
  4. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire, England
    We need to get some more information. Go to Programs, accessories, right click on command prompt and run as administrator. Enter the following command:

    ipconfig/all

    and show us the output please.

    If you have a drive other than C drive you can send the output to a file on there:

    ipconfig /all > X:\ip.txt

    where X is the drive letter you want to send it to. The output will be written to a file called ip.txt
     
  5. Allycat

    Allycat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Hope I've done this right...

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Alison-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS191 Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1C-25-2D-0B-A2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a5ac:8b6f:5e9:c614%11(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.198.20(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234888229
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-9A-4E-40-00-1C-25-2D-0B-A2
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{529D13ED-E756-407B-A15E-F34B1C12225A}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  6. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire, England
    Yes - that's what we needed. The address which starts 169. shows that your router is not assigning an IP address to your pc. The list also shows that DHCP is enabled on your pc so it is requesting one. You need now to look at your router and see if DHCP is enabled on there. It is usually the default so I would expect that is is after restting it but you need to look and check. All routers are different in their interface so you will need to look at the manual for your router to check if DHCP is anebled on there. If you have problems with it let us know the make and model of your router and we'll try an help you with that.
     
  7. Allycat

    Allycat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    The router is an airport wireless extreme and it is DHCP enabled.
     
  8. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire, England
    Try disabling any firewall. In particular - have you got or had Norton installed?
     
  9. Allycat

    Allycat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Hello again,

    No Norton, I have AVG.

    Disabled the firewall, then restarted pc = no change
     
  10. patcooke

    patcooke Microsoft MVP Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    5,019
    Location:
    North Lincolnshire, England
    What is the IP address of your router?
     
  11. Allycat

    Allycat New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Hello again,

    Address of router is 10.0.1.1
     

Share This Page