7 running horribly slow

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Help and Support' started by astelly, Nov 26, 2009.

  1. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    As the title says, I just got done installing 7 64bit (after like a 5 hour install) and now the OS is slow to respond to anything I request of it. XP ran perfectly on this rig

    My specs:

    Harddrive: WD Caviar Blue
    Sound: Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusc 7.1
    CPU: Pentium D 940 Presler 3.2GHz
    RAM: Kingston 1GB x4
    Video: Dual XFX 7950 GT
    PSU: Asus Atlas A-55GA 550W

    It was a clean install on a brand new hard drive. Needless to day after the horrible install time this annoys me to no end. Upon checknig in the Task Manager, the entire time I have the machine running the CPU is under 100% load. I, however, cannot find out what is using it. Task Manager was using 39% and nothing else was above 1%.
     
    #1 astelly, Nov 26, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2009
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Did you perform an upgrade.

    If so,. follow the directions below

    If you are on Windows XP and planning to UPGRADE...


    YOU MUST DO A CLEAN INSTALL. There is no upgrade path. There are user migration tools you can use, but you will need to backup your files and do a clean install.

    I have seen several threads about this and just want to clarify. The upgrade from Windows Vista is a valid upgrade path, but Windows XP to Windows 7 is not
     
  3. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I said in my previous post it was a clean install on a new hard drive. I am trying to mess with it to see if I can lock down exactly what is keeping the CPU at 100%
     
  4. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying a different SATA cable. If that doesn't work I'll try another clean install. I am myself baffled I have played with 7 on work computers before and love it but this is pressing my nerves, mainly because I cannot find the problem. Anyone have any other ideas?
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Have you tried running the 7 advisor? If not, try it as it will point out problem area's, if there are any..

    Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor - Download - Microsoft Windows
     
  6. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Already ran it. Said I would have no problems. I hooked up my XP drive and ran it again just to check. Same results.

    Looking into some other issues in similar threads here. Perhaps I can find the cause. Can't blame 7 though, MS can't test thier OS with every hardware combo out there.
     
  7. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    1hr20mins and it is only at Expanding Windows files (18%)...

    As much as the long install time annoys me, it isn't what I am most concerned about. I want a usable OS not one stuck with the CPU at 100% for some odd reason.
     
  8. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea, I know it isn't the OS. I have removed 3gigs of ram, the sound card, and both video cards. See it goes any faster.
     
  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Whats your system bios like? Many users have found they've needed to upgrade their bios. Are you running the latest version?
     
  10. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I am not running the latest BIOS. I can try. Its one of the few things I haven't changed. I took out all expansion cards and 3GBs of RAM. The computer was just the mobo, CPU, 1GB RAM, and a hard drive I know is good because XP is on one partition. Still took an hour to even get to the Expanding Windows portion of the install. I'll try the BIOS update but I an beginning to think it is the install disc itself.
     
  11. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    I hope it works out...:)
     
  12. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated to the latest BIOS. With minimal hardware connected and it still fails to install like it should. I got annoyed and rebooted into XP after an hour and a half. I requested that Newegg send me a new copy of it.

    If it happens with a second disc, I will be baffled, no idea why it would do this.
     
  13. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,796
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Thats a real bummer! I hope you get more luck with the new copy..
     
  14. GeoffV

    GeoffV New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi astelly

    I’m thinkin’ there may be a component on the mobo that isn’t sitting right with Windows 7. Perhaps you could reinstall XP, then download and run the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor. It will scan your entire system and provide you with a compatibility report. The tool is available from the Microsoft Download Center here Download details: Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor .

    Hope this helps

    GeoffV
    Windows 7 Client Team
     
  15. astelly

    astelly New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    XP is still installed in its own partition. The upgrade advisor said I shouldn't have a problem. I borrowed a disc from one of the techs at work and plan on trying this again when things at work calm down. I know the disc is good because the tech used it to install onto a custom built computer for a customer. I did go down to 1GB or RAM but after the first attempt with just 1GB RAM and minimal other hardware I never switched out that 1GB for another, so that 1GB module could be bad. I'll update later. Thanks for the help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...