Adobe Reader Installation - Fix

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by mynd, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. mynd

    mynd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello there,

    For those whom might not know this is a fix while installing some software and works perfectly with adobe reader 8.1.3

    Solve a problem with Windows 7 beta

    An issue with the Customer Experience Improvement Program (CEIP) client in Windows 7 beta is causing Explorer and some MSI-based installers to stop working properly.
    To solve this problem, follow these steps:

    1. Click the Start button [​IMG], click All Programs, and then click Accessories.
    2. Right-click Command Prompt, and then click Run as administrator. [​IMG] In the User Account Control window, verify that Program name is Windows Command Processor, and then click Yes.
    3. In the Administrator: Command Prompt window, type or paste the following text at the prompt:
      reg delete HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SQMClient\Windows\DisabledSessions /va /f
    4. Press Enter to install the solution.
    5. If The operation completed successfully displays, close the Administrator: Command Prompt window to complete this procedure. If "ERROR: Access is denied" displays, repeat this procedure from the top, making sure you clicked Run as administrator in step two.
    HTH
     
    #1 mynd, Jan 23, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2009
  2. chipdawg

    chipdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm getting invalid syntax error for "reg delete"
     
  3. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Disabled Sessions should be joined - DisabledSessions
    The whole string, if you want to paste, is
    reg delete HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\SQMClient\Windows\DisabledSessions /va /f


    The "r" is not needed at the end.

    P.S. Sorry. I am having some problems with the post. I can see that the two words still appear to be separate.. They must be joined.
    If you don't want to type it all out , copy and paste into notepad and join the two words, then copy and paste back into the Command window.
     
    #3 davehc, Jan 24, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2009
  4. mynd

    mynd New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry about that, but no matter how hard I try I cannot get DisabledSessions to stay together as one word. Here is how it should look. - works here though.. lol

    [​IMG]
     
  5. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I never liked Acrobat reader as it sucked up your resouces and is bloatware.

    I switched to a free producted called Foxit Reader, which actually has more functions that Acrobat Reader.

    You can read more about it and download it here:

    Foxit Software - Downloads

    By the way, it's a single executable file.
     
    #5 reghakr, Jan 24, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2009
  6. davehc

    davehc Microsoft MVP
    Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    5,116
    Likes Received:
    301
    Hi mynd.
    Not your fault. I spent a really long time trying to join those wrods up. I went out to other sites and had no problems. There is an inbuilt parsing fault on this site causing it. But it is definitely peculiar.
     
  7. jimbo45

    jimbo45 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    41
    Hi there
    Download Acrobat Reader version 9 AND DISABLE THE GOOGLE TOOLBAR OPTION on the install.

    After installing UNINISTALL the Adobe updater unless you like "Nagware".

    Works fine (W7 X32 and W7 X64). Sometimes some of these "toolbar" options cause more problems than they are worth.

    Cheers
    -K
     
  8. chipdawg

    chipdawg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I get the error unable to find registry key or value.
     

Share This Page

Loading...