AVG Anti-Virus

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Software' started by sparker781, Jan 30, 2009.

  1. sparker781

    sparker781 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well here it is in a nutshell. I installed AVG and everything went smoothly. For me and I have read other posts that when I rebooted and tried to get online to download updates such as dat files for the virus database....I couldnt. Not sure if this is a known issue. Anyone have any suggestions? I also ran Norton Internet Security for awhile with no issues til earlier today. Similar to what was happening to AVG

    Thanks for the response.
     
  2. montyuk

    montyuk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    2
    i did an install the other day, took another reboot after finishing setup to get downloads to work.
     
  3. Radenight

    Radenight New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    108
    I have AVG Free Edition installed on both the 32 bit and 64 bit editions of Win 7 beta and haven't had any problems getting updates other than the occassional having to get them manually.. but that's not a huge deal, I just open the control panel and click update now, then it does it's thing.. I wonder why yours if giving so much trouble.... perhaps you have a virus that is preventing you from getting them?? I've been using AVG Free for a few years now and never had any problems like this, that's why I'm suggesting maybe a virus is the cause of your problem... ;)
     
  4. GomJabbar

    GomJabbar Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    2
  5. maddmaxx

    maddmaxx Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    2
    I too have been using AVG for a couple of years and I have noticed a on and off problem with the auto updater. Like Radenight, I have to manually update because I get a "Failed to connect to AVG's Server" error mesage. But I was getting that same error on my XP side. Still it works fine and that's a minor annoyance for a free program.
     
  6. confused

    confused New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    6
    I ditto Maddmax. Need to manually download updates.
     

Share This Page

Loading...