Blue-screen when playing CS:GO

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Sandusky, Nov 8, 2015.

  1. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Ok good. It could well be that dust was causing some overheating you'll just have to see how things go and if the issue returns we'll try something else.
     
  2. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, thanks! I'll let you know how it runs over the next few days.
     
    kemical likes this.
  3. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I've been able to play without any issues over the past couple of days. I won't get too excited yet in case I've just been lucky. I'll give it another day or two, but things are looking promising! Thanks :D
     
  4. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well it's been 4 days now without a blue-screen, so I'm pretty sure it's fixed. Thanks so much for your help and patience!
     
  5. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Hey that's great to hear. Any problems just post back.. :)
     
  6. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, I blue-screened again just now. I'm trying to upload the dump file, but I can't zip it, or just upload the file. It comes up with an error saying I don't have permission to open the file and that I should contact an administrator, which has never happened before.
     
  7. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not sure what was happening, but I can zip it now
     
  8. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    here it is
     

    Attached Files:

  9. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 116, {fffffa800a4ce4e0, fffff88003f29d78, 0, 2}
    
    Unable to load image atikmpag.sys, Win32 error 0n2
    *** WARNING: Unable to verify timestamp for atikmpag.sys
    *** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for atikmpag.sys
    Probably caused by : atikmpag.sys ( atikmpag+cd78 )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    same dump file as before as you can see. You could try using the DDU and installing the latest AMD Crimson drivers as i know they just updated.
    These bsod's might well be caused by your graphics card being faulty. Is there anyway for you to run it in a different machine like a friends?
     
  10. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, I'll try the crimson drivers first, but if not, I can probably run it in a new machine. I was looking at upgrading soon, so if it is a faulty card, it will have come at a good time!
     
  11. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well I just installed the new crimson drivers and this error message appeared. Do you know what it means or how I can fix it?
     

    Attached Files:

  12. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    Did you use the DDU to remove the previous driver? Perhaps your card isn't compatible? Try running a previous driver and see if installs ok.
    Do you have a friend who could test the card for you?
     
  13. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes I did. This error appeared a couple of minutes after the installation, so I think the drivers installed fine before it appeared.
    Yes I do, it'll take a couple of days though, but I'll try it.
     
  14. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,852
    Likes Received:
    1,569
    I think it's best if you can. Check the card over using your friends machine then you'll know if it's the card which is causing the issues
     
  15. Sandusky

    Sandusky Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, I'm getting a new card on Tuesday (I was going to do this anyway, it's not because of the blue-screening!), so I'll know if it was the card then. I've blue-screened twice more, but it'll just be the same, so I won't post the dump files!
     

Share This Page

Loading...