Browsing Chrome Bug error 0x00000101 BSOD

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Sanetokane, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. Sanetokane

    Sanetokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have gotten this weird unorthodox BSOD for a couple of weeks now.
    As far as I can remember, the only times I've gotten this was when I was using Google Chrome.

    I'm running at stock voltage and clock on both GPU and CPU.

    I don't know how to interpret the dump file myself so I was hoping you whizes could maybe give me some idea as to what might be going on?
    I have run prime 95 for several hours, the temperature never exceeding 50C

    And as I mentioned, only when using Chrome has this happened, which is weird because from what I've heard the bug error mentioned in the title pretty much always points to a hardware or driver failure.

    Dump file attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 101, {31, 0, fffff880009eb180, 1}
    
    Probably caused by : Unknown_Image ( ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    this usually means that one of the processors in the CPU became 'hung up' for some reason and as you rightly say could be down to either a hardware or software issue. Unfortunately I cannot get a huge amount of information about the processor as this is the wrong type of dump file but there are general things we can try.
    Run this diagnostic test on the CPU:
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Desc.aspx?DwnldID=19792

    Try removing Avast Av as this is known to cause the odd issue. Install MSE as it's ultra stable:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows/security-essentials-download

    cpuz137_x64.sys Mon Feb 17 14:22:16 2014: Although this looks like it belongs to CPU-Z I'm pretty sure it belongs to another third party app which I dimly remember called 'Systemcare' something.. Do you have anything remotely like this on the system? If you do try removing it as I remember it can cause issues.

    dtsoftbus01.sys Fri Feb 21 09:49:36 2014: Daemon Tools well known for causing bsod in windows 7 please remove to test.

    You also have some drivers of which I'm unsure why they are there?

    cmudaxp.sys Tue Dec 20 03:23:23 2011: This is either C-Media, Asus Xonar or HT Claro Audio driver but yet your motherboard uses a Via Audio chip. Did you install this?

    ipfnd51.sys Wed Jan 18 06:19:32 2012: ASUS NX1001 Network Adapter. Is this something you've fitted as your motherboard already has an Atheros network adapter?

    Please update your Intel drivers by using the driver update utility:
    https://downloadcenter.intel.com/

    Your Via Audio driver can be updated here:
    http://www.gigabyte.com/products/product-page.aspx?pid=4144#driver
    Please make sure I have the correct motherboard revision (1.0,1.1 ect you'll find the number written on the motherboard itself)

    Lastly have you updated Chrome to the latest version? Click settings then 'About Google Chrome'.

    Post any new dump files.
     
  3. Sanetokane

    Sanetokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the input!

    I passed the Processor Diagnostics Tool's test, and about the network and audio adapters, I have seperate audio and network cards, a Xonar audio card at that, so that might explain them.

    I tried installing the Driver Update Utility but it didn't find any out of date drivers, and I can't seem to find z77 chipset mentioned anywhere.

    edit:

    Just happened again. Using firefox this time so I suppose Chrome can be ruled out as the cause.

    Dump included.
     

    Attached Files:

    #3 Sanetokane, Dec 15, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2014
  4. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    Code:
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck 101, {31, 0, fffff880009eb180, 1}
    
    Probably caused by : Unknown_Image ( ANALYSIS_INCONCLUSIVE )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    
    Hi,
    same again:
    Try removing Avast Av as this is known to cause the odd issue. Install MSE as it's ultra stable:
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows/security-essentials-download

    cpuz137_x64.sys Mon Feb 17 14:22:16 2014: Although this looks like it belongs to CPU-Z I'm pretty sure it belongs to another third party app which I dimly remember called 'Systemcare' something.. Do you have anything remotely like this on the system? If you do try removing it as I remember it can cause issues.

    I also found this driver:
    WinRing0x64.sys: Many different programs that center around the using of the WinRing libraries (RealTemp, Corsair Link2 (known BSOD issues ), Razer GameBooster, Fusiontweaker (Google Code), etc). If I remember correctly I'm sure it's connected to the cpuz137x64. sys too. What is on the system which relates do you know?

    Also may I ask why you fitted a new network adapter?
     
  5. Sanetokane

    Sanetokane New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually uninstalled Avast before the aformentioned BSOD happened so it's kind of weird it's still there. I couldn't find anything remotely reminding me of systemcare, though. Might be hidden somewhere which is why I'm pretty sure I'm just gonna try a clean install soon, see if that'll fix it.

    I actually have a fitted network card because the integrated one got busted during a thunderstorm a few months back. Power cable was unplugged but network cable wasn't, by some miracle the only thing that broke was the network adapter.

    Anyways, I'm going to try everything you suggested and a clean install as a last resort. If that doesn't help either, I'll probably crawl back.

    Thanks for the help!
     
  6. kemical

    kemical Windows Forum Admin
    Staff Member Premium Supporter Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    31,830
    Likes Received:
    1,565
    If you get any new dumps files please post. Also just try a few of these scans:
    Find cmd prompt in the start menu, right click on it and run as admin. Type:
    sfc /scannow
    Press enter and await results

    Run a chkdsk:
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/guide-to-using-check-disk-in-windows-vista/

    Check gpu ram using this app:
    http://mikelab.kiev.ua/index_en.php?page=PROGRAMS/vmt_en

    Windows does have it's own memory testing app but it can often miss errors and the best app for the job is Memtest86. The latest version of which can be found here:
    http://www.memtest.org/

    To run Memtest86 you need to either burn a copy of it to disk or use a USB stick. If you look down the page you'll eventually find the latest version and it's associated downloads. If your burning to disk choose the pre-compiled iso zip. If your using a USB method then the corresponding download is the auto installer for a USB stick.
    Once you have Memtest86 on the media you selected you'll then need to enter your bios and change the boot order so that the machine will boot from either the disk or stick you have Memtest86 on.
    Run the test for at least 12hrs if possible unless it becomes clear that there is a issue. If there is a problem with the RAM you'll see the errors pop up in red so you can't miss them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...