BSOD when using flash & Skype

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Blue Screen of Death (BSOD)' started by Brutus, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Brutus

    Brutus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    I've built a new pc with win7 64
    I'm getting BSODs when using flash - watching youtube videos or playing flash games and also few times when using Skype

    did a memtest overnight with no errors

    please help
     

    Attached Files:

  2. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Hello and welcome.

    Uninstall AVG in safe mode with its removal tool. Reboot and install MSE.
     
  3. Brutus

    Brutus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for quick reply

    just want to make sure, I don't use AVG but Avira and i see now that it shows process avgnt.exe*32, is that it? should I uninstall Avira?
     
  4. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Yup, I've simply confused the two because of the similar file names. You have to try this though, although I really don't think it is the issue. Possibility though.

    I really think your memory is defective, because all drivers are well otherwise, despite your testing. (Kudos for being so prepared here. Refreshing to see.)

    I would test the modules one at a time extensively like you previously have, with others removed, in the slot closest to the CPU.
     
  5. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Was double checking and found a little something needing attention, although is it very likely not the cause either:

    Rt64win7 Rt64win7.sys Thu Feb 26 04:04:13 2009

    Update this from here:

    RTL8111

    ----------

    So do like this....

    Update Realtek, remove Avira with tool in safe mode, reboot and install MSE.

    If bsods still happen, test memory as I've said.

    -----------

    Edit - hrrrrm Upon even more reflection lol:

    Code:
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck A, {ffff9a80048073c0, 2, 1, fffff80002a92312}
    
    Probably caused by : ndis.sys ( ndis! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+636e )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    ndis.sys is a network component, so maybe just maybe that Realtek update will do well for you.
     
    #5 TorrentG, Dec 10, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2010
  6. Brutus

    Brutus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks again TorrentG for you help

    I forgot to mention (shame on me) that i did update realtek lan driver from gigabyte site yesterday and system is much more stable now - but still crashed once today
    can you say if that ndis.sys problem is from todays minidump or before update.
    will download from realtek anyway - just checking
     
  7. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Yep, install from Realtek's site as it is the newest.

    The ndis.sys crash is from this earliest one you posted, so you can see yourself :) 120810-12402-01 -

    Code:
    Microsoft (R) Windows Debugger Version 6.12.0002.633 X86
    Copyright (c) Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    
    
    Loading Dump File [E:\Temp\Rar$DI03.362\120810-12402-01.dmp]
    Mini Kernel Dump File: Only registers and stack trace are available
    
    Symbol search path is: SRV*C:\SymCache*http://msdl.microsoft.com/download/symbols
    Executable search path is: 
    Windows 7 Kernel Version 7600 MP (4 procs) Free x64
    Product: WinNt, suite: TerminalServer SingleUserTS
    Built by: 7600.16617.amd64fre.win7_gdr.100618-1621
    Machine Name:
    Kernel base = 0xfffff800`02a0b000 PsLoadedModuleList = 0xfffff800`02c48e50
    Debug session time: Wed Dec  8 11:03:13.053 2010 (UTC - 5:00)
    System Uptime: 0 days 0:05:17.442
    Loading Kernel Symbols
    ...............................................................
    ................................................................
    ..........................
    Loading User Symbols
    Loading unloaded module list
    ....
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    Use !analyze -v to get detailed debugging information.
    
    BugCheck A, {ffff9a80048073c0, 2, 1, fffff80002a92312}
    
    Probably caused by : ndis.sys ( ndis! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+636e )
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    
    3: kd> !analyze -v
    *******************************************************************************
    *                                                                             *
    *                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
    *                                                                             *
    *******************************************************************************
    
    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL (a)
    An attempt was made to access a pageable (or completely invalid) address at an
    interrupt request level (IRQL) that is too high.  This is usually
    caused by drivers using improper addresses.
    If a kernel debugger is available get the stack backtrace.
    Arguments:
    Arg1: ffff9a80048073c0, memory referenced
    Arg2: 0000000000000002, IRQL
    Arg3: 0000000000000001, bitfield :
        bit 0 : value 0 = read operation, 1 = write operation
        bit 3 : value 0 = not an execute operation, 1 = execute operation (only on chips which support this level of status)
    Arg4: fffff80002a92312, address which referenced memory
    
    Debugging Details:
    ------------------
    
    
    WRITE_ADDRESS: GetPointerFromAddress: unable to read from fffff80002cb30e0
     ffff9a80048073c0 
    
    CURRENT_IRQL:  2
    
    FAULTING_IP: 
    nt!KeReleaseSemaphore+a2
    fffff800`02a92312 48894108        mov     qword ptr [rcx+8],rax
    
    CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1
    
    DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT
    
    BUGCHECK_STR:  0xA
    
    PROCESS_NAME:  System
    
    TRAP_FRAME:  fffff88002ffb9e0 -- (.trap 0xfffff88002ffb9e0)
    NOTE: The trap frame does not contain all registers.
    Some register values may be zeroed or incorrect.
    rax=fffffa80048073b8 rbx=0000000000000000 rcx=ffff9a80048073b8
    rdx=0000000000000000 rsi=0000000000000000 rdi=0000000000000000
    rip=fffff80002a92312 rsp=fffff88002ffbb70 rbp=ffff9a80048073b8
     r8=0000000000000002  r9=0000000000000000 r10=0000000000000000
    r11=0000000000000002 r12=0000000000000000 r13=0000000000000000
    r14=0000000000000000 r15=0000000000000000
    iopl=0         nv up ei pl nz na pe nc
    nt!KeReleaseSemaphore+0xa2:
    fffff800`02a92312 48894108        mov     qword ptr [rcx+8],rax ds:a420:ffff9a80`048073c0=????????????????
    Resetting default scope
    
    LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from fffff80002a7aca9 to fffff80002a7b740
    
    STACK_TEXT:  
    fffff880`02ffb898 fffff800`02a7aca9 : 00000000`0000000a ffff9a80`048073c0 00000000`00000002 00000000`00000001 : nt!KeBugCheckEx
    fffff880`02ffb8a0 fffff800`02a79920 : fffffa80`054d93d0 fffffa80`048073b0 fffffa80`04e8a300 fffffa80`00000000 : nt!KiBugCheckDispatch+0x69
    fffff880`02ffb9e0 fffff800`02a92312 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiPageFault+0x260
    fffff880`02ffbb70 fffff880`014adab9 : fffffa80`00000000 fffffa80`00000000 fffffa80`04dad1a0 00000000`00000000 : nt!KeReleaseSemaphore+0xa2
    fffff880`02ffbbf0 fffff880`014ae605 : fffffa80`051092d0 00000000`00000000 fffffa80`04dad1a0 00000000`00000000 : ndis! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x636e
    fffff880`02ffbc40 fffff800`02a86bfc : fffffa80`051095e8 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 fffff880`02fd3180 : ndis! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+0x6ee5
    fffff880`02ffbcd0 fffff800`02a83eea : fffff880`02fd3180 fffff880`02fddfc0 00000000`00000000 fffff880`01493c50 : nt!KiRetireDpcList+0x1bc
    fffff880`02ffbd80 00000000`00000000 : fffff880`02ffc000 fffff880`02ff6000 fffff880`02ffbd40 00000000`00000000 : nt!KiIdleLoop+0x5a
    
    
    STACK_COMMAND:  kb
    
    FOLLOWUP_IP: 
    ndis! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+636e
    fffff880`014adab9 90              nop
    
    SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  4
    
    SYMBOL_NAME:  ndis! ?? ::FNODOBFM::`string'+636e
    
    FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner
    
    MODULE_NAME: ndis
    
    IMAGE_NAME:  ndis.sys
    
    DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4a5bc184
    
    FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xA_ndis!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+636e
    
    BUCKET_ID:  X64_0xA_ndis!_??_::FNODOBFM::_string_+636e
    
    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    
    
     
  8. Brutus

    Brutus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    updated Realtek driver then had to go, now I see it crashed again

    I'll remove Avira now and test RAM one by one (2x2GB)

    here's latest minidump
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Yep, it's the memory. But yeah, do as you've said.
     
  10. Brutus

    Brutus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah, ok
    will report back tomorrow after memtest

    thanks
     
  11. Brutus

    Brutus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did memtest86 separately on both RAM sticks (in slot 1) - no errors
    now I'll try CHKDSK /R

    anything else I can try?
     
  12. Brutus

    Brutus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    3 new dump files

    it crashes when I'm online - but safe mode+networking works fine
     

    Attached Files:

  13. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    Take RAM out of machine. Place it in trash. Go to store. Buy new RAM. Install in machine. Problems solved, enjoy and you're welcome.

    Or return to manufacturer instead.
     
    #13 TorrentG, Dec 13, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010
  14. Brutus

    Brutus New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, will have to try that .... if that's the only thing left to do

    just curious what do you think of that: all the installed games works fine - hours of gaming and not a single crash
    also I installed WinXP on small partition and everything works, no problems

    wouldn't bad RAM also affect WinXP and installed games in Win7?
     
  15. TorrentG

    TorrentG Banned

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,814
    Likes Received:
    372
    When you replace the RAM and things go well after some time, please let us know of the success.

    Your XP is 32 bit, I can guarantee you that. (There is 64 bit version, but based on your statement, I know you don't have that.)
    It doesn't address all of your memory, while your Windows 7 64 bit does.

    Trash time. Or RMA time. (Ughhh with this repeating....I always have to do this.)

    Over 10k, probably closer to 15k Windows 7 machines fixed online by me by now, over multiple forums. Not once has it ever been reported back that replacing memory was not the fix, when I said to do so.

    (I even saved you time of needing to test with Memtest86+. Nobody else could do that for you.)
     
    #15 TorrentG, Dec 13, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010

Share This Page

Loading...