Can't get past choosing custom installation!

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Installation' started by sexton1, May 27, 2009.

  1. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I tried to choose custom installation so I can put windows 7 on my other partition I get this error

    "Windows installation encountered an unexpected error. Verify that the installation sources are accessible, and restart the installation. Error code: 0xE0000100"

    Should I just reburn the image at a slower speed or is there something else that could be wrong?

    EVERYTHING IS WORKING NOW :)
     
    #1 sexton1, May 27, 2009
    Last edited: May 28, 2009
  2. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Yes,

    I had the same issue.

    Burn at 1x or 2x and use a good quality DVD

    Also, how big is the partition you are trying to install to?
     
  3. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    The partition is 40.2 GB
     
  4. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    That is OK as long as you don't plan on installing a massive amount of 3rd party apps.

    Try using imgBurn for creating the ISO
     
  5. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I was planning on using imgburn because it can burn it even slower than nero. I used the same partition for the beta version which is why this error confused me. Thanks for the tips, I'll burn it again and see how that goes
     
  6. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Burnt it at 1x and the same error message came up at the same spot
     
  7. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, now it's definitely not the CD, I tried running it off of a USB and got the same deal
     
  8. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Are you dual-booting?

    how is your partitioning scheme set up?

    Go to Start > Run, type diskmgmt and let me know the drive letters and partitions..

    More important, which partition is marked as Boot?
     
  9. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I'm dual-booting. The drive letters are C: for vista and F: for the other partition. D: is the recovery and E: is the cd/dvd drive. As for which one is marked as boot the vista partition is, C:
     
    #9 sexton1, May 27, 2009
    Last edited: May 27, 2009
  10. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Are you running at least Vista service pack 1?

    Is the F: partition listed as unallocated or is it freshly formatted?

    If it is formatted, I'd run chkdisk first. Right-click on the drive letter, choose properties, click the Tools tab and hit the Check Now button.

    There's a command-line option that takes a long time, but it's a much more thorough check.

    I'll have to look up the syntax on that.

    Since you're dual-booting, it might be a good idea to use EasyBCD 1.7.2 if you have any problems booting
     
    #10 reghakr, May 27, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2009
  11. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I have vista home premium service pack 1. The F: partition has been formatted, it's not unallocated. I just ran chkdisk and I don't think any problems were found. I was thinking that I should just combine the 2 partitions and then repartition again because that worked when I installed the beta
     
    #11 sexton1, May 27, 2009
    Last edited: May 27, 2009
  12. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know if this matters, but it wasn't listed as a primary partition. The main vista partition and recovery were primary partitions along with some random 2.5 GB one, but the windows 7 and some other partition used for a mediadirct button were not primary
     
  13. sexton1

    sexton1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Deleating the windows 7 partition and then reformatting it worked! Everything installed perfectly and I'm using it right now. Thank you Reghakr for all of you help and tips :)
     
  14. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    Your most welcome.

    Have fun:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...