Windows 8 Change PC Settings does not work in Audit Mode (Windows 8 Pro 64-bit)

Stern

Here is the problem. I'm an IT pro and I'm in the process of creating Windows 8 Pro (64-bit) images for my workplace using audit mode (i have done this countless times on windows 7). The problem is, the 'Change PC settings' button does NOT work when I click on it in audit mode. Nothing happens at all, the charms bar just slides away as it should, and then....nothing.

Heres what I'm doing:

1. Installing Windows 8 using our (MAK) dvd on my base image PC (Dell Optiplex 780). This is a CLEAN install on a wiped hard disk using verified installation media.
2. I Press Ctrl-SHift-F3 at the 'Personalize' screen to launch audit mode
3. The system logs in as it should with the built-in admin account

At this stage, Windows is not yet activated. The change PC settings button does not work.

I then:

4. Activate Windows 8 using the 'slui 3' command to input my volume product key. This activates OK.
5. I reboot to complete activation
6. I verify in system settings that windows IS activated.

The 'change pc settings' button still does not respond at this stage (nothing happens at all, no errors etc). And this is with ZERO changes to the PC.

Attempted Workarounds

For the record, I have tried countless things in a bid to fix this, including but not limited to:

* put the resolution to 1024x768 (as some forums recommended) - 'change PC settings' still not working.
* installing ALL available windows updates (before activation, after activation etc) - 'change PC settings' still not working.
* updated the PC bios and tried again - 'change PC settings' still not working.
* I have created new local accounts (admin and non admin) just to test it using the new accounts, and that doesnt work either.
* I have wiped the disk and attempted complete wipe and reinstalls countless times (and on 3 different models of PC), with the same result. 'change PC settings' still not working.