Windows 7 Classic vs. New Start Menu

Discussion in 'Desktop Customization' started by iroken22, Jan 21, 2009.

?

Classic or New(Aero) Start Menu?

This poll will close on Jun 7, 2036 at 10:31 PM.
  1. Classic Start Menu

    31.0%
  2. New Start Menu

    64.2%
  3. I hate Both

    2.2%
  4. I like Both

    6.6%
Multiple votes are allowed.
  1. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    And an extreme close-up.

    I can't read any information on my "preview"
     
  2. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,677
    Likes Received:
    378
    The I hate both option in the poll ;)

    Would that mean the person hating both just never started any version of windows ? Or started but just hated to start :)
     
  3. unawave

    unawave New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    I miss in this poll the option: "I like both" or "I would like both"
     
  4. whoosh

    whoosh Cooler King
    Staff Member Premium Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    25,677
    Likes Received:
    378
    Good point :D
     
  5. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    #85 thomasw234, May 10, 2009
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
    Mike and (deleted member) like this.
  6. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Version 0.2

    EDIT: 20/10/09 Go to http://www.csmenu.com for the latest version.

    Ok so I've had more time than I thought I would, and here is the second release (0.2).

    =====================
    Version 0.2 Changelog
    =====================

    * On the first menu, you can now have anything you want (although Shut Down is fixed at the bottom). Just create a new text file, save it as what you want the menu item to be called, and change the file extension to 'csm'. Also, you can put a number infront of the csm file, which determines the order of which the items are displayed on the main menu. Once all the numbers have been listed, it will revert to alphabetical order. For example - '1zzz.csm' and '2aaa.csm' will be displayed 'Zzz' and 'Aaa' (an automatic uppercase is added at the beginning).

    * The selected item on the previous menu now remains selected. So if you are looking at programs > accessories, then both programs and accessories will be highlighted, aswell as whatever your mouse is hovering over.

    * If you click the desktop when the menu is open, it will now close, like the real start menu would. However, this will only work on the primary desktop - if I click somewhere on my second monitor nothing happens.

    * A 'Windows 7' text/image has been added to the main menu. No big deal, but just makes it look a bit more realistic

    Feeedback, bugs, suggestions and comments all welcome! Thanks!

    EDIT: Download deleted - This is an ancient version!
     
    #86 thomasw234, May 12, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2009
  7. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    #87 reghakr, May 12, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: May 12, 2009
  8. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thanks, but your link just brings me back to this thread. :p I'll try to find another thread with the same topic!

    Thomas
     
  9. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
  10. unawave

    unawave New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    1. This doesn't work.
    Example: The programs menu is build from these two folders:
    C:\Users\[User name]\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs

    When I add these two folder in "1programs.csm" (comma separated) I only get the menu from the first folder (I have changed the order position).

    2. Arrow of shortcut symbols
    Can you hide the small arrow of the menu links ? There exists some registry hacks to disable ALL small arrows in shortcuts:
    Remove or modify the arrow used on shortcuts
    Remove Shortcut Arrow from Desktop Icons
    But I like these small shortcut arrows on desktop shortcuts to show me what desktop symbol is a shortcut and what desktop symbol is a program. So I don’t want to disable the small arrows generally. So: Is it possible to disable the small arrows only for the menu links ?

    Next thing perhaps you can't see:
    3. In every language localization there exists in nearly every windows folder a file "desktop.ini" with attribute "hidden". This file is responsible for the translation of the folder name to the corresponding language.
    When I have enabled "show hidden files" in Windows Explorer - then in all of your menus the file "desktop.ini" appears. Please: Suppress the appearance of this file generally - even if "show hidden files" is enabled.

    4. The complete language localization is not implemented
    So I see only the English names of folder and shortcuts.

    German example of "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Administrative Tools\desktop.ini"
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    [LocalizedFileNames]
    Memory Diagnostics Tool.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\MdSched.exe,-4001
    System Configuration.lnk=@%systemroot%\system32\msconfig.exe,-126
    Performance Monitor.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\wdc.dll,-10021
    Data Sources (ODBC).lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\odbcint.dll,-1310
    Windows Firewall with Advanced Security.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\System32\AuthFWGP.dll,-20
    services.lnk=@%systemroot%\system32\filemgmt.dll,-2204
    Computer Management.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\mycomput.dll,-300
    iSCSI Initiator.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\iscsicpl.dll,-5001
    Event Viewer.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\miguiresource.dll,-101
    Task Scheduler.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\miguiresource.dll,-201
    Component Services.lnk=@%systemroot%\system32\comres.dll,-3410
    Print Management.lnk=@%systemroot%\system32\pmcsnap.dll,-700
    Security Configuration Management.lnk=@%SystemRoot%\system32\wsecedit.dll,-718

    [.ShellClassInfo]
    LocalizedResourceName=@%SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll,-21762
    ---------------------------------------------------------

    This means:
    [.ShellClassInfo]
    For German language the name of the folder "Administrative Tools" is translated to "Verwaltung" - which is stored in the file "%SystemRoot%\system32\shell32.dll" at position "21762"

    [LocalizedFileNames]
    For German language the name of the shortcut "Computer Management" is translated to "Computerverwaltung" - which is stored in the file "%SystemRoot%\system32\mycomput.dll" at resource position "300"

    So your program should do this:
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    If "desktop.ini" exist then
    If section "LocalizedResourceName" exist in "desktop.ini" then
    open file between the "=@" and the comma, extract the text at resource No. behind the comma and use this text string as folder name​
    Otherwise use folder name
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    If file "desktop.ini" exist then
    If shortcut name exist in "desktop.ini" then
    open file between the "=@" and the comma, extract the text at resource No. behind the comma and use this text string as menu name instead of the file name​
    Otherwise use shortcut name as menu name
     
  11. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok thanks for the feedback. I can't reply to all your questions straight away because I'm at college at the moment, but just make sure you're running version 0.2, the problems with shortcut arrows and only a single folder was supposedly removed in 0.2, or it has been for me at least. I'll have a look this afternoon when I'm at home!

    Thomas
     
  12. unawave

    unawave New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes, I used version 0.2

    5. Can I disable the "Shut Down" menu link? (I anyway always use Alt+F4)
    I don’t like it because
    • The message is in English "Are you sure you want to shut down?"
    • And if I have open a not saved document the file is killed

    Remark: In the command
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\shutdown.exe -r -f -t 00 -d p:0:0
    The parameter "f" is responsible for "not waiting" to save opened documents.

    Perhaps it should change to:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\shutdown.exe -r -t 00 -d p:0:0

    6. Configurable colours
    Is it possible to have configurable colours - perhaps in an ini file? Colours for:
    • Text colour
    • Selected item text colour
    • Menu Background
    • Selected item area
     
  13. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok, that's weird, I wasn't aware that Windows 7 had the start menu split into 2 folders. When I get my text file setup, it shows the contents of both folders, but one after the other (it doesn't merge the contents, so there are 2 folders called accessories). Please could you paste the contents of your programs.csm text file, so I can try and replicate it exactly.

    This is also weird. On version 0.1 the icon was taken straight from the shortcut file, but on 0.2 I thought I'd solved it, by finding out the location of the file the link was pointing to, and getting the shortcut from that. If it's not too much trouble, could you get a screenshot please?

    Yes I was aware of this file as it shows up on mine (en-UK as opposed to the standard en-US), I will prevent it from being displayed.

    Ok, I wasn't aware of that. It might take me a bit of time to get it sorted, but yes I should be able to have a go at that. Thanks for the info on how to do it!

    Yes in the next version I will add a setup dialog, which allows you to customize various settings.

    Thankyou very much for all of your suggestions! It might be a while before I get chance to completely add all of these, as I have so many exams coming up. Or it might be tomorrow :D just depends on how much revision I do.

    Thomas.
     
  14. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    I remember a long time ago on the Registry Guide forums that removing the shortcut arrow can cause problems.

    Here's the possibilities of what might happen when you remove the shortcut arrow:

    Note : Please note that in some cases deactivating the arrow for *.LNK files might lead to duplicate items in the Explorer context menu, as in essence, removing the “IsShortcutâ€Â￾ effectively forces Windows to treat the shortcut as real hard file. In Windows 7, it may also cause error such as unable to pin shortcut to Taskbar or Start Menu.
     
  15. pcr2k9

    pcr2k9 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Classic. And classic control panel view as well.
     
  16. unawave

    unawave New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    7
    Excuse me - but forget point "2. Arrow of shortcut symbols". I can not see the shortcut arrows anymore. Neither in version 0.2 nor in version 0.1.

    That's correct and now I see that "Accessories" appears two times:
    • One time with the content of the user menu
    • One time with the content of "All user"
    So: The file "programs.csm" works correct.

    But it would be better, when the two menus of "Accessories" merged to one menu.
    Also "Administrative Tools", "Maintenance" and "Startup" appear twice.

    Content of "programs.csm":
    Code:
    C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs,C:\Users\unawave\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs
     
  17. Zrome

    Zrome New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    How do you change to the Classic Start Menu?

    Vista, there was an option when you'd right click the taskbar and go to Start Menu Properties. I am unable to find on this for some reason.
     
  18. reghakr

    reghakr Excellent Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    14,220
    Likes Received:
    180
    It's impossible unless you use 3rd party utilities.

    the one above is the best one I've seen yet.

    take a look at all the posts in this thread starting from the beginning.
     
  19. tourettes

    tourettes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you so much for this! This looks amazing! Keep up the good work, you just brought a tear to my eye and gave me hope.
     
  20. thomasw234

    thomasw234 Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    CSMenu Version 0.3

    EDIT: 17/05/2009 - v0.4 is out now, see the post number 21 (page 3). The attached files in this post are out of date!

    So here is the next version. I think it covers the stuff discussed previously. Once again, please let me know if there are any bugs, or you have any constructive criticism / suggestions.

    Thanks, Thomas.

    =====================
    Version 0.3 Changelog
    =====================

    * Desktop.ini is now hidden by default

    * A settings file with 25 different settings is used, so the program can be customized using the customization tool (including disabling the shut down option). Configuration tool is in English only!!

    * Localization now sorted out.
     
    #100 thomasw234, May 15, 2009
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2009

Share This Page

Loading...